Meet the 30 theater pros who decide the Tony Awards nominations

Nominations for the Tony Awards are determined by a 30-member committe. They are drawn from all aspects of the theater and attend every show that opens on Broadway during the season. At the end of the eligibilty period in late April, they meet for a day-long session to hash out the nominees. Winners are decided by the 650 plus voters.

These theater pros serve as nominators for three years and are replaced on a rolling basis. Among the new class of 10 nominators (ndicated in the list below by an *) are three-time directing Tony nominee Michael Grief, two-time acting Tony nominee Andre de Shields and Moises Kaufman — a directing Tony nominee for “I Am My Own Wife” as well as a nominee for his play “33 Variations.”

The committee includes:

*Victoria BaileyExecutive Director, Theatre Development Fund

David CaddickMusic Supervisor

Ben CameronProgram Director for the Arts – Doris Duke Charitable Foundation

Kathleen ChalfantActor

Hope ClarkeStage Director/Choreographer/Actor

Thomas CottProducer/Management Consultant

*André De ShieldsActor

Edgar DobieProducer/General Manager/Managing Director, Arena Stage Washington, DC

*Gordon EdelsteinDirector/Artistic Director of Long Wharf Theatre

*Beverly EmmonsLighting Designer

*Michael GreifDirector

Paulette HauptDirector of the Music Theatre Conference at The O’Neill Center

*Mark HollmannComposer/Lyricist

Elena K. HolyFounder – The International Fringe Festival

Robert KamlotRetired General Manager

*Moisés KaufmanDirector/Playwright/Artistic Director, Tectonic Theater

Robert KimballAuthor

Pia LindströmFormer Reporter/Theatre Critic

*Todd LondonArtistic Director, New Dramatists

Donna McKechnieActor/Choreographer

Jon NakagawaProducer of Contemporary Programming – Lincoln Center

Alice PlaytenActor

Theresa RebeckPlaywright

Susan H. SchulmanDirector

*Rosemarie Tichler – Theatre Executive, Educator/Casting Director

Tamara TunieActor/Producer

William TynanActor/Reporter

*Kevin WadePlaywright/Screenwriter

Doug WrightPlaywright/Screenwriter

Andrew ZermanRetired Casting Director

Image: Tony Awards Statuette (ATW)

More News from GoldDerby