Miranda Lambert wins 4 ACMs but Taylor Swift takes top award

Miranda Lambert won four races at the 46th annual Academy of Country Music Awards Sunday but was bested by Taylor Swift for the top prize of Entertainer of the Year. They faced off against four men — Jason Aldean, Toby Keith, Brad Paisley and Keith Urban — for this award chosen in online voting that extended throughout the CBS kudocast.

Reigning two-time champ Carrie Underwood was snubbed in that race. And with no new album out this year, Underwood earned only a single bid for Female Vocalist, which Lambert won for the second year in a row. And her smash hit “The House That Built Me” was named Song, Single Record and Video of the Year. Among those Lambert edged out for that last award were herself (for “Only Prettier”) and fiance Blake Shelton (for “Hillbilly Bone featuring Trace Adkins).

Shelton, who lost his bid for Male Vocalist to five-time consecutive champ Brad Paisley, co-hosted the kudos with Female Vocalist nominee Reba McEntire who returned to emcee for a 13th consecutive year. All five of the Entertainer of the Year nominees performed on the three-hour telecast from the MGM Grand in Las Vegas.

At 21, Swift is the youngest winner of the top award from the Academy of Country Music, just as she was two years ago when she claimed this prize from the rival Country Music Assn. While she may have been named Best New Female Vocalist by ACM in 2007, Swift lost her fourth consecutive Best Female Vocalist race. She was also defeated as both artist and producer of Album of the Year nominee “Speak Now.” Rather, Lady Antebellum claimed those latter two prizes for their Grammy-winning disc “Need You Now” and they also claimed Best Vocal Group for the second year in a row.

Among those who lost that race was the Zac Brown Band, the 2008 Best New Group, which won only one of its five bids — Best Vocal Event (“As She’s Walking Away” featuring Alan Jackson). Sugarland won the Best Duo award giving them a bookend for their 2009 trophy. The Band Perry was named Best New Group and Eric Church won Best New Artist. 

More News from GoldDerby