‘The King’s Speech’ in upset Best Picture win with PGA

The Producers Guild of America named “The King’s Speech” as the Best Picture of 2010, ending the sweep of precursor awards by “The Social Network.” A dozen of our pundits expected that film about Facebook to win this kudo as well. Like the Academy Awards, the PGA champ is decided using a preferential system of ballot counting.

The next test for both these films will be the SAG Awards where they vie for Best Ensemble against three of their PGA rivals — “Black Swan,” “The Fighter” and “The Kids Are All Right.” Those awards from and for actors were where eventual Oscar champs “Shakespeare in Love” (1998) and “Crash” (2005) first trumped the frontrunning “Saving Private Ryan” and “Brokeback Mountain” respectively.

And like “Shakespeare in Love,” “The King’s Speech” could well lead with the most Oscar nominations this year which has been a proven bellwether for predicting the Best Picture champ more often than not over the past four decades.

Among the other 10 nominees for Best Picture at the PGAs were “127 Hours” and “True Grit” which had been snubbed by the Golden Globes. Notable PGA omissions include “Another Year,” “Winter’s Bone” and “The Way Back.”

Last year’s PGA winners of the Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producers — the quartet behind “The Hurt Locker” — made it to the stage of the Kodak Theater to collect the Oscar for Best Picture. The PGA and Oscars had agreed upon 8 of 10 contenders. The PGA nominated “Invictus” and “Star Trek” over eventual Oscar choices “The Blind Side” and “A Serious Man.” During the past 20 years, the guild and Oscars agreed on 13 of 20 Best Picture champs.

Another of this year’s PGA nominees for Best Picture — “Toy Story 3” — was named Best Animated Picture. And “Waiting for Superman” prevailed as Best Documentary.

Reigning Emmy champ “Modern Family” won Best Comedy Series on its first nomination. “The Colbert Report” won Best Live Entertainment/Competition for the third year running while “Mad Men” also three-peated for top TV Drama Series. “Deadliest Catch” finally took the Non-Fiction TV prize with its third consecutive bid. And Emmy winner “The Pacific” took the combined TV Movie/Mini award.

This year’s winners were unveiled in a ceremony at the Beverly Hilton Hotel hosted by Judd Apatow. Intersperesed among the competitive categories were tributes to: Scott Rudin (David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures), Laura Ziskin (Visionary Award), James Cameron (Milestone Award), Tom Hanks and his producing partner Gary Goetzman (Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television), and RealD (Vanguard Award). 

“127 Hours
“Black Swan”
“The Fighter”
“The Kids Are All Right”
“The King’s Speech”
“The Social Network”
“The Town”
“Toy Story 3”
“True Grit”

“Despicable Me”
“How to Train Your Dragon”
“Toy Story 3”

“Client 9: The Rise and Fall of Eliot Spitzer”
“Earth Made of Glass”
“Inside Job”
“Smashes His Camera”
“The Tillman Story”
“Waiting for Superman”

“30 Rock”
“Curb Your Enthusiasm”
“Modern Family”
“The Office”

“Breaking Bad”
“Mad Men”
“True Blood”

“Murder on the Orient Express”
“Pillars of the Earth”
“Temple Grandin”
“The Pacific”
“You Don’t Know Jack”

“Anthony Bourdain: No Reservations”
“Deadliest Catch”
“Kathy Griffin: My Life on the D-List”
“Undercover Boss”

“The Amazing Race”
“The Colbert Report”
“Project Runway”
“Real Time with Bill Maher”
“Top Chef”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *