Oscars ratings rise from last year

This year’s Oscarcast drew at least 40.2 million viewers over its three and a half hours on ABC Sunday night. Those early numbers could rise as Neilsen expands its report beyond the 56 metered markets. (Last year’s ceremony, emceed by Seth MacFarlane, had 40.4 million viewers.)

The 86th annual edition of these kudos scored a 12.1/29 in the premium 18-49 demo for the alphabet net which turned its whole primetime schedule over to the Oscars. 

The 90-minute red carpet arrivals show saw viewership jump in each half hour, as follows.

7 pm ET/4 pm PT:  21.4 million viewers ( 5.3/16 in 18-49)

7:30 pm ET/4:30 pm PT: 25.7 million viewers (6.8/19)

8:00 pm ET/5 pm PT:  33.3 million viewers (9.1/23)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *