DGA Awards nominations: ‘The Big Short,’ ‘The Martian,’ ‘Mad Max: Fury Road,’ ‘The Revenant,’ ‘Spotlight’

On Tuesday, the DGA announced its nominees for Best Director: Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu ("The Revenant"), Tom McCarthy ("Spotlight"), Adam McKay ("The Big Short"), George Miller ("Mad Max: Fury Road") and Ridley Scott ("The Martian"). The winner will be revealed at the 68th annual edition of this kudofest on Feb. 6 at the Hyatt Regency in Los Angeles. 

Subscribe to Gold Derby Breaking News Alerts & Experts’ Latest Oscar Predictions

We are predicting that Scott will win the Best Director Oscar. We have McCarthy in second, Inarritu in third and Miller in fourth in that race. McKay is in sixth, behind Todd Haynes ("Carol") who was snubbed by the guild. 

This year, the DGA introduced a new award for first-time directors, allowing non-guild members to contend (unlike the WGA). The nominees are: Fernando Coimbra (“A Wolf at the Door”), Joel Edgerton (“The Gift”), Alex Garland (“Ex Machina”), Marielle Heller (“The Diary of a Teenage Girl") and Laszlo Nemes (“Son of Saul”).

Since the Directors Guild of America aligned itself with the Oscars calendar in 1950, all but seven of its winners for Best Director have repeated at the Oscars. However, the guild does less well predicting the five Oscar nominees. In its first 15 years, there were anywhere from four to 18 DGA nominees. From 1963 – 1965, it went with five before going to 10 for the rest of the decade. Finally, beginning in 1970 it enshrined the number of nominees as five. And since then, there have only been five years where it previewed the exact lineup of Oscar contenders. 

Tthere are usually one or two differences between the slate selected by the 16,000 plus members of the DGA, which includes helmers of TV fares and commercials, and the choices of the 394 members of the directors branch of the academy.

Last year, Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu ("Birdman") edged out Wes Anderson ("The Grand Budapest Hotel"), Clint Eastwood ("American Sniper"), Richard Linklater ("Boyhood") and Morten Tyldum ("The Imitation Game") for the win. He prevailed at the Oscars against Anderson, Linklater, Tyldum and Bennett Miller ("Foxcatcher"). 

In 2013, Alfonso Cuaron ("Gravity") won this award over Paul Greengrass ("Captain Phillips"), Steve McQueen ("12 Years a Slave"), David O. Russell ("American Hustle"), Martin Scorsese ("The Wolf of Wall Street"). He repeated at the Oscars against McQueen, Russell, Scorsese and Alexander Payne ("Nebraska"). 

In 2012, only two of the Directors Guild of America nominees —  Ang Lee (“Life of Pi”) and Steven Spielberg (“Lincoln”) — also reaped Oscar bids. The other three DGA nominees — Ben Affleck (“Argo”), Kathryn Bigelow (“Zero Dark Thirty”) and Tom Hooper (“Les Miserables”) — were snubbed by the Oscars in favor of Michael Haneke (“Amour”), David O. Russell (“Silver Linings Playbook”) and Benh Zeitlin ("Beasts of the Southern Wild).  Lee won the Oscar race. 

Compare Oscar odds in all 24 categories:
Experts vs. Editors vs. Top 24 Users vs. All Users

That disconnect between the DGA and Oscars was unprecedented. Affleck won over the DGA voters while his film, "Argo," became the third to take Best Picture at the Oscars without a corresponding Best Director nomination. The others: "Grand Hotel" (1931/32) and “Driving Miss Daisy” (1989).

Affleck was the seventh DGA champ who did not go on to repeat at the Academy Awards, following in the path of these Oscar also-rans:

1968: DGA to Anthony Harvey (“The Lion in Winter”), Oscar to Carol Reed (“Oliver!”)

1972: DGA to Francis Ford Coppola (“The Godfather”), Oscar to Bob Fosse (“Cabaret”)

1985: DGA to Steven Spielberg (“The Color Purple”), Oscar to Sydney Pollack (“Out of Africa”)

1995: DGA to Ron Howard (“Apollo 13”), Oscar to Mel Gibson (“Braveheart”)

2000: DGA to Ang Lee (“Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon”), Oscar to Steven Soderbergh (“Traffic”)

2002: DGA to Rob Marshall (“Chicago”), Oscar to Roman Polanski (“The Pianist”)

Dish all the Oscar races in our red-hot forums with Hollywood insiders

Who do you think will win Best Director at the Oscars? 

Make your Oscar predictions using the menu to the right or below. 

You'll compete to win our contest prizes for best picks — $500 (first place), $300 (second place) and $200 (third place) in Amazon gift certificates — a place of honor on our leaderboard and a starring role in next year's Top 24 Users (the two dozen folks who do the best predicting this year's Oscar nominations). Be sure to read our contest rules.

Meet the guy who won our contest to predict the Oscar nominations last year — and learn how he did it and how you can be our next Gold Derby superstar.

2 thoughts on “DGA Awards nominations: ‘The Big Short,’ ‘The Martian,’ ‘Mad Max: Fury Road,’ ‘The Revenant,’ ‘Spotlight’

  1. I think George Miller is the one that stands out to me the most being snubbed in favor of Steven Spielberg for Bridge Of Spies. I don’t see Mad Max making any final listing for big awards other than technical achievements. It just seems highly unlikely. The Golden Globes seemed like the most realistic opportunity for Mad Max to really make some noise but they instead chose The Revenant, The Martian and Steve Jobs. Speaking of Steve Jobs I also like Danny Boyles chances now for Best Director. I think Ridley Scott is now in third behind Alejandro and Tom McCarthy. Alejandro’s win said a lot about how well respected he is and how his work speaks for itself and is too good not to recognize and Ridley Scott I love his work. I think he has an effortless approach to his filmmaking that comes so natural to him that makes him a one of a kind special director. Alejandro however is a visionary and you can see the passion and excitement when you watch his films and how he speaks about them. He’s doing things that have never been done before and I love that he’s a Spaniard. Him winning last year and Alfonzo winning before and Kathryn Bigelow winning and Ang Lee I think is starting to welcome the diversity of filmmaking and that’s huge. There’s still ways to go with acting but filmmaking is well on its way. I would be totally fine if Alejandro repeated because he deserves it. Ridley deserves it too but if he won it would be for his body of work and not just The Martian. If it’s just for one film apiece Alejandro delivered by a long shot. That’s just my take on the situation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More News from GoldDerby