Home Forums Movies If 12 Years a Slave was made in 1963, who would have played Solomon Northup?

If 12 Years a Slave was made in 1963, who would have played Solomon Northup?

CREATE A NEW TOPIC
CREATE A NEW POLL
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
Created
1 week ago
Last Reply
1 week ago
3
replies
220
views
3
users
Teridax
1
Macca
1
MHS83
1
If 12 Years a Slave was made in 1963, who would have played Solomon Northup?
James Earl Jones
Sidney Poitier
  • darthvader12
    Participant
    Joined:
    Feb 1st, 2016
    Topics:
    Posts:
    #1202526871

    Here are the options for who would have played Solomon Northup if 12 Years a Slave was made in 1963 (50 years earlier). Feel free to vote for your pick.

    Reply
    Teridax
    Participant
    Joined:
    Dec 12th, 2014
    Topics:
    Posts:
    #1202526901

    Poitier because he was the bigger star at the time. I’m a little surprised to not see Ossie Davis as an option at the very least, even though I still think Poitier would have played the part, and done a great job at that.

    ReplyCopy URL
    Macca
    Participant
    Joined:
    Dec 22nd, 2015
    Topics:
    Posts:
    #1202526949

    Woody Strode.

    ReplyCopy URL
    MHS83
    Participant
    Joined:
    Oct 7th, 2011
    Topics:
    Posts:
    #1202527393

    We need to consider that Poitier was most likely everyone’s first choice at that time (think Julia Roberts in The Player) and, in the eyes of many execs, the *only* choice because they did not know of any other non-white leading actors. But Poitier could not say Yes to every offer. Which would mean that the film would have never gotten made if Sidney did not agree to do it.

    But it is fun to play time-travelling games where we can be a mid-century exec with 21st century sensibilities. In that case, I would like to see Louis Gossett and Godfrey Cambridge read for the part.

    ReplyCopy URL
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
Reply To: If 12 Years a Slave was made in 1963, who would have played Solomon Northup?

You can use BBCodes to format your content.
Your account can't use Advanced BBCodes, they will be stripped before saving.

Similar Topics
Alex Meyer - Apr 19, 2018
Movies
Jays - Apr 19, 2018
Movies