The Oscars 2015. Since When???

Home // Forums // Movies // The Oscars 2015. Since When???

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
Created
3 years ago
Last Reply
3 years ago
replies
views
users
  • Baby Clyde
    Participant
    Topics:

PEDANT ALERT!!!

This is really bugging me. On the Academy’s website these nominations are announced as ‘The Oscars 2015’.

WAH???

When did they start doing that? These aren’t The Oscars 2015. They are the 87th Annual Academy Awards celebrating the films of 2014. The ceremony just happens to take place in 2015.

I’ve been doing this for 30 years now and the rule has always been that you refer to the year in which the ceremony is for not the year in which it takes place. Going by this there must be a year when no awards where given out at all.

’12 Years A Slave’ is the 2013 Best Picture winner. ‘Boyhood will probably be the Best Picture or 2014. The Academy themselves stating otherwise is incredibly confusing. We now officially have the Best Film of 2014 being awarded at The Oscars 2015. Why don’t they just stick with the chronological title that they’ve always given it?

ETPhoneHome
    Participant
    Topics:

Agreed, they should fix that. It’s ludicrously confusing.

ReplyCopy URL
    CAROL-CHANNING
    Topics:

Yeah, I hate that, too.  These are the 2014 nominations, dammit!!

ReplyCopy URL
    Baby Clyde
    Participant
    Topics:

Glad I’m not alone.

ReplyCopy URL
    Halo_Insider
    Participant
    Topics:

Yeah, that’s just weird. I know Chris Beachum is quick to chide anyone here who makes that mistake, and it’s weird to think the Academy would do it. 

ReplyCopy URL
    Baby Clyde
    Participant
    Topics:

I hate it. I remeber when I was first on this forum a decade or so ago it used to be one of the rules that you always referred to the year that someone won for not in.

That has stayed pretty consistent ever since, but how can that now be the case if the Academy are saying otherwise?

ReplyCopy URL