Blog: News & Views

News Nuggets: Netflix original series 'Lilyhammer' is eligible for Emmys

By Daniel Montgomery
By Daniel Montgomery
Mar 12 2012 13:15 pm

Original Netflix content will be eligible for Emmys: "The first Netflix series, 'Lilyhammer,' is eligible for the Emmys, according to John Leverence, Emmys senior vice president of awards. The Emmys made broadband programming eligible in 2006. Shows must have a certain duration to avoid being entered as a short, and they must have at least six episodes. 'Lilyhammer' is eligible on both counts, and 'House of Cards' will be, too." STAR TRIBUNE

Radio special announced for the ACM Awards: "Dial Global Radio Networks has announced a radio special for the ACM (Academy of Country Music) Awards, celebrating this year’s nominees. The 'ACM Nomination Special' will be hosted by Broken Bow Records (BBR) artist Jason Aldean, and it will air March 24th or March 25th. Some of the artists featured on the special include Taylor Swift, Lady Antebellum, Brad Paisley, Faith Hill and many more." ALL ACCESS MUSIC GROUP

Tehran ceremony honoring Oscar-winner Asghar Farhadi ("A Separation") cancelled: "The Centre for Directors and the Supreme Council for Iranian Filmmakers issued a joint statement to Farhadi saying 'we were planning a simple and sincere ceremony for you to honour your great achievement for Iranian cinema, but we cannot hold it,' according to the ISNA news agency. The two bodies said officials scrapped the event but did not say why. The ministry of culture and Islamic guidance told ISNA it had no information about the ceremony." AFP

Five more performers added to the ACM Awards: "Blake Shelton, The Band Perry, Lady Antebellum, Rascal Flatts and Chris Young have been announced as performers for the ACM Awards on April 1. All five artists are nominated this year." CMT

Showtime sets 2012 return dates for "Dexter" and "Homeland": "As it hinted following 'Dexter' and 'Homeland‘s' successful pairing last fall, Showtime is keeping the two dramas together for another cycle. The pay cable network has set September 30 as a premiere date for 'Dexter‘s' seventh season and 'Homeland‘s' second. The two series will again air at 9 PM ('Dexter') and 10 PM ('Homeland') on Sundays." DEADLINE

Broadway Jr. founder Freddie Gershon, Arthur Siccardi Theatrical Serivces production supervisor Artie Siccardi, and the Theater Development Fund's Open Doors program will receive Tony Honors: "The Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre were established in 1990 and are awarded annually to institutions, individuals and/or organizations that have demonstrated extraordinary achievement in theatre, but are not eligible in any of the established Tony Award categories."

Related News
Follow Gold Derby
Click Here


Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Hot Links from the Web
Inside Track: Emmy Voting

EXCLUSIVE: See the episodes
submitted to Emmy judges
by actors and TV series

Every actor submits only one sample episode, which will be judged by other actors (ranging from 25 to 75 per category jury) between July 28 and August 14. TV series submit six, which will be split into three pairs to be distributed randomly to about 300 voters. We now have uncovered every single title submitted for the 2014 races. CLICK HERE FOR THE EPISODES

We analyze the pros and cons
of episodes submitted by actors
to Emmy judges

Who submitted well? Click links below to read our in-depth analysis of each actor's episode entry. 

Dylan Baker ("The Good Wife")
Beau Bridges ("Masters of Sex")
Reg E. Cathey ("House of Cards")
Paul Giamatti ("Downton Abbey") 
obert Morse ("Mad Men")
Joe Morton ("Scandal")

Kate Burton ("Scandal")
Jane Fonda ("The Newsroom")
Allison Janney ("Masters of Sex")
Kate Mara ("House of Cards")
Margo Martindale ("The Americans")
Diana Rigg ("Game of Thrones")

Steve Buscemi ("Portlandia")
Louis C.K. ("SNL")
Gary Cole ("Veep")
Jimmy Fallon ("SNL")
Nathan Lane ("Modern Family")
Bob Newhart ("The Big Bang Theory")

Uzo Aduba ("OITNB")
Laverne Cox ("OITNB")
Joan Cusack ("Shameless")
Tina Fey ("SNL")
Melissa McCarthy ("SNL")
Natasha Lyonne ("OITNB")


Photo Galleries: Oscars, Emmys, ...
Emmy Nominees: Video Interviews
Subscribe to our free news service