Blog: News & Views

'Zero Dark Thirty' sweeps National Board of Review Awards

By Gold Derby News Desk
By Gold Derby News Desk
Dec 05 2012 11:42 am

National Board of Review NBR winners Zero Dark Thirty Silver Linings Playbook Oscars awards movies entertainment news 24680975The National Board of Review named "Zero Dark Thirty" Best Picture while its helmer Kathryn Bigelow  won her second Best Director prize from this New York based awards group. These wins come two days after the docudrama about the hunt for Osama Bin Laden won both these prizes from the New York Film Critics Circle. 

Three years ago, Bigelow won Best Director from the NBR for "The Hurt Locker" but the film lost Best Picture to "Up in the Air." Both Bigelow and her movie went on to win at the Oscars. 

Bradley Cooper pulled off an upset in Best Actor, winning for "Silver Linings Playbook." All the buzz this season has focused on his co-star Jennifer Lawrence who lost Best Actress to "Zero Dark Thirty" star Jessica Chastain. Both these women had been bested at the NYFCC by Rachel Weisz ("The Deep Blue Sea"). 

RELATED: What do the NBR Awards tell us about the Oscars? 

RELATED: Complete list of winners 

Cooper's surprise win means that  "Lincoln" leading man Daniel Day-Lewis, who won over the NYFCC, remains without a lead acting prize from this group. While he claimed the 1986 supporting award for his performances in both "My Beautiful Launderette" and "A Room With a View," he did not prevail for either of his Oscar-winning roles in 1989's "My Left Foot" (Morgan Freeman won for "Driving Miss Daisy") or 2007's "There Will Be Blood" (George Clooney won for "Michael Clayton"). 

Leonardo DiCaprio ("Django Unchained") picked up a second Supporting Actor award, to join the one he won in 1993 for "What's Eating Gilbert Grape." And character actress Ann Dowd won for her featured performance in "Compliance."

The screenplay awards went to Rian Johnson for his original script for "Looper" and director David O. Russell for his adaption of "Silver Linings Playbook."  

"Les Miserables," which made it onto the top 10 list, won Best Ensemble. 

"Amour" picked up the Foreign Language Film prize while "Wreck-It Ralph" won the animated feature award. 

"Beasts of the Southern Wild" won Breakthrough awards for writer/director Benh Zeitlin and star Quvenzhane Wallis

The awards will be presented on Jan. 10 at Gotham's Cipriani 42nd Street.

Related News
Follow Gold Derby
Click Here


Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Hot Links from the Web
Inside Track: Emmy Voting

EXCLUSIVE: See the episodes
submitted to Emmy judges
by actors and TV series

Every actor submits only one sample episode, which will be judged by other actors (ranging from 25 to 75 per category jury) between July 28 and August 14. TV series submit six, which will be split into three pairs to be distributed randomly to about 300 voters. We now have uncovered every single title submitted for the 2014 races. CLICK HERE FOR THE EPISODES

We analyze the pros and cons
of episodes submitted by actors
to Emmy judges

Who submitted well? Click links below to read our in-depth analysis of each actor's episode entry. 

Dylan Baker ("The Good Wife")
Beau Bridges ("Masters of Sex")
Reg E. Cathey ("House of Cards")
Paul Giamatti ("Downton Abbey") 
obert Morse ("Mad Men")
Joe Morton ("Scandal")

Kate Burton ("Scandal")
Jane Fonda ("The Newsroom")
Allison Janney ("Masters of Sex")
Kate Mara ("House of Cards")
Margo Martindale ("The Americans")
Diana Rigg ("Game of Thrones")

Steve Buscemi ("Portlandia")
Louis C.K. ("SNL")
Gary Cole ("Veep")
Jimmy Fallon ("SNL")
Nathan Lane ("Modern Family")
Bob Newhart ("The Big Bang Theory")

Uzo Aduba ("OITNB")
Laverne Cox ("OITNB")
Joan Cusack ("Shameless")
Tina Fey ("SNL")
Melissa McCarthy ("SNL")
Natasha Lyonne ("OITNB")


Photo Galleries: Oscars, Emmys, ...
Emmy Nominees: Video Interviews
Subscribe to our free news service