Blog: News & Views

News Nuggets: Will negative Oscar campaigning hurt 'Lincoln,' 'Zero Dark Thirty'?

By Daniel Montgomery
By Daniel Montgomery
Dec 20 2012 12:06 pm

oscars lincoln zero dark thirty negative campaigning accuracy torture entertainment film newsGregg Kilday considers whether negative "whisper campaigns" against "Zero Dark Thirty" (pro-torture?) and "Lincoln" (distorts history?) will affect their chances: "Welcome to the dark side of awards season. For weeks, filmmakers have been putting their best feet forward, mingling sociably at cocktail parties and patiently answering the same questions over and over again at Q&As. But at the same time, behind the scenes, there's a different conversation taking place. Sometimes it originates with campaign consultants in off-the-record chats with reporters and voters in which, instead of talking up their own movies' virtues, they detour into pointing out other pictures' flaws." HOLLYWOOD REPORTER

US senators watch "Lincoln" with director Steven Spielberg and star Daniel Day-Lewis: "... Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid, D-Nev., said that he hopes the message of the movie with resonate with senators and the American people. 'I hope everybody who shared his anti-political mood will go out there and see "Lincoln." The movie portrays a nobility of politics in exactly the right way,' Reid said." ABC NEWS

The Art Directors Guild will honor Sir Ken Adam, Peter Lamont, Allan Cameron, and Dennis Gassner, the production designers of the 23 James Bond films, with the prestigious Cinematic Imagery Award. The Art Directors Guild Excellence In Production Design Awards will be presented on February 2, 2013.

Kelsey Grammer will host the Directors Guild Awards on Saturday, February 2, 2013 in the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland in Los Angeles. This will be Grammer's second year in a row as emcee.

Nathan Fillion, WGA Awards nathan fillion castle entertainment television film newsstar of ABC's "Castle," will host the Writers Guild's West Coast Awards on Sunday, February 17, 2013. Says Fillion, "When I first accepted the honor of hosting the Writers Guild Awards, I was confused and actually thought I was receiving one. Since I play a writer on TV, I felt perhaps someone was under the impression I deserved an award and I wasn’t about to correct them. However, now I’m in the perfect position to present myself with whichever award I choose. Who’s going to know? At the very least, I can network with the most talented writers in the business in preparation for my next round of unemployment. It’s a win/win."

The Writers Guild of America, West's Paddy Chayefsky Laurel Award will go to Joshua Brand and John Falsey, who created the TV programs "Northern Exposure" and "St. Elsewhere." The Laurel Award honors writers for lifetime achievement in television. The duo will be awarded the the WGA's west coast ceremony on Sunday, February 17, 2013.

The Producers Guild of America will present its 2013 Stanley Kramer Award to the feature documentary "Bully." Director Lee Hirsch and producer Cynthia Lowen will accept the award on Saturday, January 26 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles. The Stanley Kramer Award was created to honor a production or individual who raises awareness of an important social issue.

Final call for entries for the 17th Annual Webby Awards. The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences will accept submissions until Friday, December 21. The awards, which announce nominees in April 2013 and winners later in the spring, were created to honor the best in web-based interactive media. WEBBY AWARDS

Related News
Follow Gold Derby
Click Here


Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Hot Links from the Web
Inside Track: Emmy Voting

EXCLUSIVE: See the episodes
submitted to Emmy judges
by actors and TV series

Every actor submits only one sample episode, which will be judged by other actors (ranging from 25 to 75 per category jury) between July 28 and August 14. TV series submit six, which will be split into three pairs to be distributed randomly to about 300 voters. We now have uncovered every single title submitted for the 2014 races. CLICK HERE FOR THE EPISODES

We analyze the pros and cons
of episodes submitted by actors
to Emmy judges

Who submitted well? Click links below to read our in-depth analysis of each actor's episode entry. 

Dylan Baker ("The Good Wife")
Beau Bridges ("Masters of Sex")
Reg E. Cathey ("House of Cards")
Paul Giamatti ("Downton Abbey") 
obert Morse ("Mad Men")
Joe Morton ("Scandal")

Kate Burton ("Scandal")
Jane Fonda ("The Newsroom")
Allison Janney ("Masters of Sex")
Kate Mara ("House of Cards")
Margo Martindale ("The Americans")
Diana Rigg ("Game of Thrones")

Steve Buscemi ("Portlandia")
Louis C.K. ("SNL")
Gary Cole ("Veep")
Jimmy Fallon ("SNL")
Nathan Lane ("Modern Family")
Bob Newhart ("The Big Bang Theory")

Uzo Aduba ("OITNB")
Laverne Cox ("OITNB")
Joan Cusack ("Shameless")
Tina Fey ("SNL")
Melissa McCarthy ("SNL")
Natasha Lyonne ("OITNB")


Photo Galleries: Oscars, Emmys, ...
Emmy Nominees: Video Interviews
Subscribe to our free news service