Louis C.K., Bryan Cranston and Lena Dunham among DGA TV nominees

By Gold Derby News Desk
By Gold Derby News Desk
Jan 09 2013 14:27 pm
See Gold's
Get Gold Derby's free news alerts and predictions

Just as with Ben Affleck on the feature film side, three actors turned TV helmers reaped bids from the Directors Guild of America Wednesday. 

Louis C.K. contends for directing the "New Year's Eve" episode of his FX laffer "Louie"; Lena Dunham is up for the pilot of her HBO series "Girls"; and three-time Emmy winner Bryan Cranston landed a nod for overseeing "Election Day" on "Modern Family." 

The other laffmeisters in the mix are Mark Cendrowski for "The Date Night Variable" episode of "The Big Bang Theory" and Beth McCarthy-Miller, who handled the "Live From Studio 6H" episode of "30 Rock." McCarthy-Miller is a two-time DGA champ for overseeing live programs "America: A Tribute to Heroes" and "Saturday Night Live."

On the drama front, "Homeland" picked up two bids for returning nominees: Lesli Linka Glatter for "Q&A" and Michael Cuesta for "The Choice." The other helmers in the running are Jennifer Getzinger who contends again for "Mad Men" ("A Little Kiss") and DGA newcomers Rian Johnson for "Breaking Bad" ("Fifty One") and Greg Mottola for "The Newsroom" ("We Just Decided To").

Jay Roach won an Emmy for directing the telefilm "Game Change" and faces off against two of his Emmy rivals -- Philip Kaufman ("Hemingway and Gellhorn") and Kevin Reynolds ("Hatfields and McCoys") -- as well as Greg Berlanti ("Political Animals") and Michael Rymer ("American Horror Story: Asylum"). 

Winners will be revealed at the 65th annual DGA Awards on Feb. 2. Kelsey Grammer is hosting these kudos at the Hollywood & Highland complex in Los Angeles. 

Make your Emmy & reality TV predictions.
Win prizes: $100 to $1,000.
pop up close


Make Your Predictions: Win Prizes

MAKE YOUR PREDICTIONS HERE & NOW: Win prizes, compete against experts, fans and your friends

WIN weekly prizes: Predict "Dancing with the Stars," "Survivor," "The Amazing Race" and "Project Runway." Win $100 Amazon Gift Certificates.

Predict Oscar winners: Claim bragging rights, top spot on our leaderboards and a place of honor in next year's Top 24 Users (see what this year's are predicting HERE).

CLICK HERE TO GET STARTED. We'll send you personal notifications of your scores.


Hot Links from the Web

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Photo Galleries: Oscars, Emmys, ...