Ron Howard, Al Michaels, Les Moonves, Bob Schieffer among TV Academy Hall of Fame inductees

By Chris Beachum
By Chris Beachum
Jan 23 2013 11:44 am
See Chris's
Mar 20 2015 11:45 am
Get Gold Derby's free news alerts and predictions

TV Hall of Fame Emmy Awards TV News Entertainment Ron Howard  Al Michaels Les Moonves Bob Schieffer 18307426

A child actor turned producer, sportscaster, network and studio executive, journalist, writer/producer, and the inventor of television transmission are the latest inductees of the Television Academy's Hall of Fame. The six honorees were announced Wednesday and will be inducted at the 22nd ceremony on March 11 at the Beverly Hilton.

"Each of this year's Hall of Fame inductees is incredibly deserving of this honor and is truly a legend of our industry," said Bruce Rosenblum, Chairman and CEO, Academy of Television Arts & Sciences. "This will be a spectacular evening, rich with stories and reminiscing. We couldn't be happier to announce that this year’s event will benefit the Archive of American Television, a program of the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Foundation, which is dedicated to preserving and celebrating television's past while educating those who will lead our industry in the future."

These six men join more than 120 television legends and contributors who have been inducted since the first ceremony in 1984. That initial group consisted of actress/comedienne Lucille Ball, actor/comedian Milton Berle, writer Paddy Chayefsky, producer/writer Norman Lear, journalist/host Edward R. Murrow, CBS founder William S. Paley, and NBC founder David Sarnoff.

This year's selections are:

Ron Howard, an Emmy winner as a producer of both the comedy series "Arrested Development" and the miniseries "From the Earth to the Moon." He starred as a child on "The Andy Griffith Show" and as a young adult on "Happy Days."

Al Michaels, a six-time Emmy winner as Best Sports Personality. He is the only commentator to be the lead announcer on the Super Bowl, World Series, NBA Finals, and Stanley Cup Finals. He has also called many Olympics events and been the play-by-play announcer on ABC's Monday Night Football and NBC's Sunday Night Football.

Leslie Moonves, president and CEO of the CBS Corporation and former president of Warner Bros. Television. He has been at CBS since 1995 and is the longest-serving of the current crop of television executives.

Bob Schieffer, a journalist, reporter, and host with CBS News the past 43 years. He has covered all four political beats -- White House, Pentagon, State Department, and Capitol Hill -- anchored versions of the CBS News broadcasts and hosted "Face the Nation" since 1991.

Dick Wolf, an Emmy-winning producer of the successful "Law and Order" franchise of series for NBC. He has also produced the Emmy-nominated documentary "When You're Strange" and Emmy-winning miniseries "Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee." Over the past three decades, he worked as an advertising executive and as a producer/writer on "Hill Street Blues," "Miami Vice," and other programs.

Philo Farnsworth, a physicist who developed the basic operating system of electronic television while he was still in high school. His company Farnsworth Television transmitted the first crude television image in 1927 in San Francisco. Called the "forgottten father of television," he passed away in 1971.

Related News
Make your Emmy & reality TV predictions.
Win prizes: $100 to $1,000.
pop up close


Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Hot Links from the Web
Photo Galleries: Oscars, Emmys, ...
Subscribe to our free news service