Roger Deakins wins ASC Award for 'Skyfall' but Oscar odds favor 'Life of Pi'

By Gold Derby News Desk
By Gold Derby News Desk
Feb 11 2013 03:18 am
See Gold's
Get Gold Derby's free news alerts and predictions

Roger Deakins won the American Society of Cinematographers award Sunday for "Skyfall." This marks his third ASC win from 11 nominations, having previously prevailed for "The Shawshank Redemption" (1994) and "The Man Who Wasn't There" (2001).  

However, as Deakins knows all too well, these guild kudos have only predicted 10 of the past 26 Oscar winners. He did not repeat at the Oscars for either of his previous ASC wins: in 1994, John Toll won for "Legends of the Fall" and in 2001, Andrew Lesnie won for "The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Rings." 

"Skyfall" marks Deakin's 10th Oscar bid. Among those he edged out for the ASC award were three of his Oscar rivals -- frontrunner Claudio Miranda ("Life of Pi") who won the BAFTA Sunday; Seamus McGarvey ("Anna Karenina"); and Janusz Kaminski ("Lincoln") -- as well as  Danny Cohen ("Les Miserables"). Deakins was absent while Miranda skipped the BAFTAs to be at these awards. 

The fifth Oscar nominee is three-time Oscar champ Robert Richardson ("Django Unchained"). He has lost all 10 of his ASC bids over the years. 

While the ASC choice for the best in the business has presaged the eventual winner at the Oscars only half the time, the guild has predicted 105 of the 135 Oscar nominees over the past 27 years. 

On the TV front, Kramer Morgenthau ("Game of Thrones") and Balazs Bolygo ("Hunted") tied for One-Hour Series while Bradford Lipson ("Wilfred") won the Half-Hour race and Florian Hoffmeister  ("Great Expectations") took the Movie/Miniseries prize. 

Related News
Make your Emmy & reality TV predictions.
Win prizes: $100 to $1,000.
pop up close


Make Your Predictions: Win Prizes

MAKE YOUR PREDICTIONS HERE & NOW: Win prizes, compete against experts, fans and your friends

WIN weekly prizes: Predict "Dancing with the Stars," "Survivor," "The Amazing Race" and "Project Runway." Win $100 Amazon Gift Certificates.

Predict Oscar winners: Claim bragging rights, top spot on our leaderboards and a place of honor in next year's Top 24 Users (see what this year's are predicting HERE).

CLICK HERE TO GET STARTED. We'll send you personal notifications of your scores.


Hot Links from the Web

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Photo Galleries: Oscars, Emmys, ...