'Zero Dark Thirty' predicted to win Writers Guild Award for Original Screenplay

By Gold Derby News Desk
By Gold Derby News Desk
Feb 14 2013 09:12 am
See Gold's
Get Gold Derby's free news alerts and predictions

At Sunday's Writers Guild of America Awards, Mark Boal is predicted to win Best Original Screenplay for "Zero Dark Thirty." He won this same award three years ago for "The Hurt Locker," his last collaboration with director Kathryn Bigelow.

He has the backing of five experts, four editors and about 75% of users. That translates into leading odds of 8/5

In second place are director Wes Anderson and co-writer Roman Coppola for "Moonrise Kingdom." They have the support of one expert, one editor and about 20% of users. That gives them odds of 14/5. 

The other three contenders -- Paul Thomas Anderson ("The Master"), John Gattin ("Flight") and Rian Johnson ("Looper") -- have only smatterings of votes from our users. 

Because these kudos only consider scripts written under the guild's guidelines or those of several international partners, two of the Oscar contenders for Original Screenplay are missing: "Django Unchained" by non-guild member Quentin Tarantino and "Amour" from writer-director Michael HanekeThey replace WGA nominees Gattin and Johnson. 

Tarantino, who won the Oscar in 1993 for "Pulp Fiction," is in a fierce battle with Boal, for the Academy Award. Boal has a slight edge and a win with the WGA on Sunday night could be just the boost he needs before Oscar voting ends on Tuesday afternoon. 

RELATED: 'Lincoln' predicted to win WGA Adapted Screenplay over 'Argo'

Three of last year's Oscar nominees for Best Original Screenplay -- "The Artist," "Margin Call" and "A Separation" -- were ineligible with the WGA. "Midnight in Paris" won Woody Allen his fifth Original Screenplay award from the WGA and then a record third Oscar for original writing.   

In 2010, the eventual Oscar winner for Best Original Screenplay -- "The King's Speech" -- was ineligible for the WGA award as was another Oscar nominee -- "Another Year." Oscar contender Christopher Nolan won that prize for "Inception" edging out, among others, Oscar rivals "The Fighter" and "The Kids Are All Right."

While 282 films were eligible for Best Picture at the Oscars, only 68 of these had original scripts that could vie for WGA recognition. Winners will be revealed in joint ceremonies at the Marriott in Los Angeles and B.B. Kings in New York.  


"Flight," by John Gatins
This is his first WGA nomination.

"Looper, by Rian Johnson
This is his first WGA nomination.

"The Master," by Paul Thomas Anderson
He has three previous WGA nominations, but no wins. 

"Moonrise Kingdom," by Wes Anderson & Roman Coppola
Anderson was previously nominated for "The Royal Tenenbaums."  This is Coppola's first WGA nomination.

"Zero Dark Thirty," by Mark Boal
This is his second WGA nomination. He previously won for "The Hurt Locker."

Related News
Make your Emmy & reality TV predictions.
Win prizes: $100 to $1,000.
pop up close


Make Your Predictions: Win Prizes

MAKE YOUR PREDICTIONS HERE & NOW: Win prizes, compete against experts, fans and your friends

WIN weekly prizes: Predict "Dancing with the Stars," "Survivor," "The Amazing Race" and "Project Runway." Win $100 Amazon Gift Certificates.

Predict Oscar winners: Claim bragging rights, top spot on our leaderboards and a place of honor in next year's Top 24 Users (see what this year's are predicting HERE).

CLICK HERE TO GET STARTED. We'll send you personal notifications of your scores.


Hot Links from the Web

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Photo Galleries: Oscars, Emmys, ...