'Argo' and 'Silver Linings Playbook' win ACE Eddie Awards

By Tom O'Neil
By Tom O'Neil
Feb 16 2013 22:23 pm
Email this to a friend
See Tom's Predictions
Oct 12 2014 14:53 pm
Get Gold Derby's free news alerts and predictions

ACE Eddie Awards Oscars Academy Awards Argo Silver Linings Playbook news

As our odds predicted, "Argo" and "Silver Linings Playbook" won the America Cinema Editors' ACE Eddie Awards in the drama and comedy categories.

While both films are nominated for best editing at the Oscars, the edge usually goes to the drama, of course, so this guild victory further establishes "Argo" as the academy frontrunner. That, in turn, bolsters its hope of winning the top Oscar since the awards for Best Editing and Picture seem to be reliably and mysteriously linked.

Eighteen of our 21 experts are predicting "Argo" to win Best Editing at the Oscars while just three are backing the bid by "Zero Dark Thirty." That support for "Argo," along with those of seven of our editors and 80% of users, gives it leading odds of 8/5 to win the cutting prize. And with all but one of our experts and editors predicting it to win Best Picture, it has odds of 27/10 (over "Lincoln" at 5/1) to take home the top award too. 

"Brave" demolished frontrunner "Wreck-It Ralph" for Best Animated Feature Film. That upset, along with a similar victory at the Cinema Audio Society kudos Saturday, could mean we have a real contest for Best Animated Feature at the Oscars. 

Following up past victories at the PGA, DGA and IDA, "Searching for Sugar Man" took Best Documentary. 

Here's the full list of ACE Eddie Champs:

Best Edited Feature Film - Dramatic
William Goldenberg, A.C.E.

Best Edited Feature Film - Comedy/Musical
"Silver Linings Playbook"
Jay Cassidy, A.C.E. and Crispin Struthers

Best Edited Feature Film - Animated
Nicholas C. Smith, A.C.E. & Robert Grahamjones, A.C.E

Best Edited Documentary - Feature
"Searching for Sugar Man"
Malik Bendjelloul

Best Edited Documentary - Television
"American Masters: Phil Ochs - There But For Fortune"
Pamela Scott Arnold

Best Edited Half-Hour Series for Television
"Nurse Jackie" - "Handle Your Scandal"
Gary Levy

Best Edited One-Hour Series for Commercial Television
"Breaking Bad" - "Gliding Over All”
Skip MacDonald, A.C.E.

Best Edited One-Hour Series for Non-Commercial Television
"The Newsroom" - "We Just Decided To (Pilot)"
Anne McCabe, A.C.E.

Best Edited Miniseries or Motion Picture for Television
"Hemingway & Gellhorn"
Walter Murch, A.C.E.

Best Edited Non-Scripted Series
"Frozen Planet" - "To the Ends of the Earth"
Andy Netley & Sharon Gillooly

Golden Eddie (Filmmaker of the Year Award)
Steven Spielberg

Lifetime Achievement Award
Richard Marks, A.C.E.
Larry Silk, A.C.E.

Student Competition
Michael Smith – AFI

Related News
Email this to a friend


Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Inside Track: Oscar Predictions

Oscars predictions

Earliest Oscars Predictions Ever

Our Oscarologists are busy updating their predictions as they see more and more contenders. Make your early picks now -- click here -- and change them later as the derby heats up.

Odds   View %  
1 BoyhoodBoyhood
2 UnbrokenUnbroken
3 BirdmanBirdman
4 The Imitation GameThe Imitation Game
5 InterstellarInterstellar
6 The Theory of EverythingThe Theory of Everything
7 Gone GirlGone Girl
8 FoxcatcherFoxcatcher
9 American SniperAmerican Sniper
10 SelmaSelma
See complete statistics by Clicking Here
Hot Links from the Web
Photo Galleries: Oscars, Emmys, ...
Latest Forum Posts
Rihanna's music videos elimination ..
+ Unfaithful-You Da OneUmbrella - 11Disturbia - 11Unfaithful - 11 Pon De Replay ..
Official PROJECT RUNWAY Thread (Sea..
I was surprised that there were no eliminations, I thought for sure Char was goi..
Barbra Walters' 10 Most Fascinating..
Just some that came to mind (but i bolded the ones I really hope make the cut)1)..
Subscribe to our free news service