'Silver Linings Playbook' wins 4 Indie Spirit Awards, including Best Picture

By Gold Derby News Desk
By Gold Derby News Desk
Feb 23 2013 15:45 pm
Email this to a friend
See Gold's Predictions
Get Gold Derby's free news alerts and predictions

Indie Spirit winners Silver Linings Playbook Jennifer Lawrence Matthew McConaughey John Hawkes Helen Hunt The Sessions Beasts of the Southern Wild  movies news entertainment 13579086

"Silver Linings Playbook" upset "Beasts of the Southern Wild" in two top races at the Indie Spirit Awards Saturday, winning both Best Picture and Director (David O. Russell). As our odds predicted, it also claimed Best Actress (Jennifer Lawrence) and Screenplay. (See full list of winners here.)

"Silver Linings" lost its fifth bid as John Hawkes ("The Sessions") won Best Actor over Oscar nominee Bradley Cooper. Hawkes won the supporting award two years ago for "Winter's Bone," which launched Lawrence. Helen Hunt won the supporting actress award for her work with Hawkes.  

"Beasts" prevailed with just one of its four bids -- Cinematography. 

"Moonrise Kingdom," which also had a leading five nominations was shut out. Writer/director Wes Anderson lost both those races to Russell, who won Best First Feature 17 years ago for "Spanking the Monkey"; that award went to "Perks of Being a Wallflower" this year.

The Best Director field also included Julia Loktev ("The Loneliest Planet"), Ira Sachs ("Lights") and Benh Zeitlin ("Beasts"), who won Breakthrough Director at the Gothams. 

Lawrence prevailed over one of her Oscar rivals -- Quvenzhane Wallis ("Beasts) -- as well as Linda Cardellini ("Return"), Gotham Awards champ Emayatzy Corinealdi ("Middle of Nowhere") and Mary Elizabeth Winstead ("Smashed"). 

Besides Cooper, Hawkes bested Jack Black ("Bernie"), Thure Lindhardt ("Lights"), Matthew McConaughey ("Killer Joe") and Wendell Pierce ("Four"). 

McConaughey got a consolation prize, winning Best Supporting Actor for "Magic Mike." 

American feature film nominees, culled from entries with budgets of under $20 million, were determined by a committee while winners were chosen by members of Film Independent. As "Silver Linings" had a budget of $21 million, it had to be given special dispensation to contend. 

"Amour" won the International Film award while "The Invisible War" won Best Documentary. 

The prizes were handed out during a ceremony in a tent on Santa Monica beach. A 1:30 p.m. start means that only a taped version of the show will air on IFC.

Last year, "The Artist" won four of its five bids -- Best Picture, Director, Actor and Cinematography. It went on to win Best Picture at the Oscars, becoming the first Spirit champ to do so since "Platoon." 

The only Oscar nominee among the Best Actress slate won. Michelle Williams ("My Week with Marilyn") prevailed over Lauren Ambrose ("Think of Me"), Rachael Harris ("Natural Selection"), Adepero Oduye ("Pariah") and Elizabeth Olsen ("Martha Marcy May Marlene"). Oscar contender Glenn Close was passed over for her passion project "Albert Nobbs." 

Shailene Woodley, who was snubbed by the Oscars, won the Supporting Actress race for her performance in "The Descendants," She defeated Oscar nominee Janet McTeer ("Albert Nobbs") as well as New York Film Critics Circle winner Jessica Chastain ("Take Shelter"), Anjelica Huston ("50/50") and Harmony Santana ("Gun Hill Road"). 

Another Oscar frontrunner, Christopher Plummer ("Beginners") won Supporting Actor over four fellows who were left off the academy roster: Albert Brooks ("Drive), John Hawkes ("Martha Marcy May Marlene"), John C. Reilly ("Cedar Rapids") and Corey Stoll ("Midnight in Paris"). 

Michel Hazanavicius ("The Artist") won Best Director over Mike Mills ("Beginners"), Jeff Nichols ("Take Shelter"), Oscar nominee Alexander Payne ("The Descendants") and Nicolas Winding Refn ("Drive").

With only one Screenplay category, the Oscar-nominated adaptation of "The Descendants" by Payne, Nat Faxon and Jim Rash) prevailed over Hazanavicius' original Oscar-contending script for "The Artist" as well as those by Joseph Cedar ("Footnote"), Mills ("Beginners") and Tom McCarthy ("Win Win").

Two years ago, "Black Swan" won all four of its bids including Best Picture while rival nominee "Winter's Bone" took two of its seven races. They -- along with "127 Hours" and "The Kids Are All Right" --  contended in the top race at the Oscars. However, the eventual Oscar champ "The King's Speech" was eligible only in the category of Best Foreign Film which it won.

Natalie Portman edged out her four Oscar rivals to win for "Black Swan." James Franco ("127 Hours"), the lone Oscar candidate among the Best Actor nominees, prevailed. "Winter's Bone" supporting players John Hawkes and Dale Dickey won those awards. Hawke was in the running at the Oscars as was fellow Spirits nominee Mark Ruffalo ("The Kids Are All Right") but both lost to Christian Bale ("The Fighter"). 

Darren Aronofsky, the only Oscar nominee in that race, won Best Director for "Black Swan." The Screenplay award went to "Kids Are All Right" director Lisa Choldenko and her co-writer Stuart Blumberg. The pair vied at the Oscars in the Original Screenplay race while fellow Spirit nominees Debra Granik and Anne Rosellini ("Winter's Bone") were up for Best Adapted Screenplay.

Related News
Email this to a friend


Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Inside Track: Oscar Predictions

Oscars predictions

Earliest Oscars Predictions Ever

Our Oscarologists are busy updating their predictions as they see more and more contenders. Make your early picks now -- click here -- and change them later as the derby heats up.

Odds   View %  
1 BoyhoodBoyhood
2 UnbrokenUnbroken
3 BirdmanBirdman
4 The Imitation GameThe Imitation Game
5 The Theory of EverythingThe Theory of Everything
6 Gone GirlGone Girl
7 InterstellarInterstellar
8 FoxcatcherFoxcatcher
9 WhiplashWhiplash
10 The Grand Budapest HotelThe Grand Budapest Hotel
See complete statistics by Clicking Here
Hot Links from the Web
Photo Galleries: Oscars, Emmys, ...
Latest Forum Posts
Spike Video Game Awards/VGX Game of..
+ Grand Theft Auto V- Madden NFL 2004The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim - 11Resident Ev..
Gold-Derby's Top 10 Albums of All T..
Again, not surprised by number one.This list leans heavily towards new albums. ..
Official MODERN FAMILY (Season 6) T..
My biggest gripe about this season... zero interactions across the families. Hav..
2014 Golden Globes TV Predictions
Can the people predicting Modern Family to win Best Comedy explain themselves? I..
Cate Blanchett in Blue Jasmine VERS..
quote="MiloKunis"]Given that very few people have even seen the film, let alone ..
Subscribe to our free news service