Blog: News & Views

Will James Cromwell finally win first Emmy for 'American Horror Story: Asylum'?

By Marcus James Dixon
By Marcus James Dixon
Jun 10 2013 10:50 am

If Gold Derby's editors, experts and users are correct, veteran actor James Cromwell will finally win an Emmy award thanks to his sadistic role on "American Horror Story: Asylum."

Cromwell is already a three-time Emmy also-ran, having failed to secure wins for "RKO 281" (Movie/Mini Supporting Actor in 2000), "ER" (Drama Guest Actor in 2001) and "Six Feet Under" (Drama Guest Actor in 2003). Thanks to the movie "Babe," Cromwell also has a Supporting Actor Oscar nomination under his belt; he lost that 1995 race to Kevin Spacey ("The Usual Suspects"). 

Hey voters, isn't it time for James Cromwell to actually win something?

According to Gold Derby's exclusive polling, that time is now. Cromwell currently comes in first place in the race for Movie/Mini Supporting Actor. That puts him above category competitors Jeffrey Tambor ("Phil Spector"), Peter Mullan ("Top of the Lake"), Rob Lowe ("Behind the Candelabra"), Zachary Quinto ("American Horror Story: Asylum") and Dan Aykroyd ("Behind the Candelabra").

What's most surprising about this group of actors is that, just like Cromwell, none of them have ever won an Emmy for acting. Tambor has six nominations under his belt, Lowe has one for "The West Wing," while Quinto and Mullan have yet to be nominated. Aykroyd earned an Emmy for writing "Saturday Night Live" back in 1977, but couldn't win as a performer or producer on that variety series.

If Cromwell secures victory for playing the Nazi scientist/torturer Dr. Arden on the FX anthology series, he should give a big thank you to HBO for their decision to not submit Matt Damon in the Supporting Actor category where many insiders thought he would be placed. Instead, HBO decided to submit both Damon and Michael Douglas in the Movie/Mini Lead Actor race for "Behind the Candelabra," ensuring that only one of their Emmy-worthy performances can be rewarded with Emmy gold.

Find out if Cromwell's evil doctor makes the cut when Emmy nominations are revealed July 18. Neil Patrick Harris hosts the 65th Primetime Emmys on CBS Sept. 22.

Related News
Follow Gold Derby
Click Here


Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Hot Links from the Web
Inside Track: Emmy Voting

EXCLUSIVE: See the episodes
submitted to Emmy judges
by actors and TV series

Every actor submits only one sample episode, which will be judged by other actors (ranging from 25 to 75 per category jury) between July 28 and August 14. TV series submit six, which will be split into three pairs to be distributed randomly to about 300 voters. We now have uncovered every single title submitted for the 2014 races. CLICK HERE FOR THE EPISODES

We analyze the pros and cons
of episodes submitted by actors
to Emmy judges

Who submitted well? Click links below to read our in-depth analysis of each actor's episode entry. 

Dylan Baker ("The Good Wife")
Beau Bridges ("Masters of Sex")
Reg E. Cathey ("House of Cards")
Paul Giamatti ("Downton Abbey") 
obert Morse ("Mad Men")
Joe Morton ("Scandal")

Kate Burton ("Scandal")
Jane Fonda ("The Newsroom")
Allison Janney ("Masters of Sex")
Kate Mara ("House of Cards")
Margo Martindale ("The Americans")
Diana Rigg ("Game of Thrones")

Steve Buscemi ("Portlandia")
Louis C.K. ("SNL")
Gary Cole ("Veep")
Jimmy Fallon ("SNL")
Nathan Lane ("Modern Family")
Bob Newhart ("The Big Bang Theory")

Uzo Aduba ("OITNB")
Laverne Cox ("OITNB")
Joan Cusack ("Shameless")
Tina Fey ("SNL")
Melissa McCarthy ("SNL")
Natasha Lyonne ("OITNB")


Photo Galleries: Oscars, Emmys, ...
Emmy Nominees: Video Interviews
Subscribe to our free news service