WATCH: Is this James Spader's ('The Blacklist') next Emmy-winning speech?

By Marcus James Dixon
By Marcus James Dixon
Dec 18 2013 15:22 pm
See Marcus's
Aug 31 2015 09:14 am
Get Gold Derby's free news alerts and predictions

Even though James Spader famously announced that he has no idea how the Emmys are chosen, he's got a trio of these trophies on his mantel (two for "Boston Legal" and one for "The Practice") that might suggest otherwise. Now that he's on NBC's buzzy new drama "The Blacklist," might that number increase to four?

The answer is a resounding yes, thanks in no part to his brilliant speech from the November 25 episode titled "Anslo Garrick." (Watch the entire speech below.) It comes near the tail-end of the episode, when his character Raymond Reddington and his injured CIA partner (Diego Klattenhoff) seek refuge in a bulletproof glass box from a terrorist that's come to kidnap him. It's a rare moment of sensitivity from a character who straddles the line every week between being a bad guy and good guy.

As we know, one of the most common ways for an actor to win an Emmy is to give a big, grandstanding speech in their episode submission to Emmy voters. That's how Spader won three times for playing lawyer Alan Shore. He would often close the episodes with a memorable speech that stayed with voters long after they were done viewing his submission.

Just a few months ago, "The Newsroom" star Jeff Daniels prevailed as Best Drama Actor by opening his episode with an intense dictation of why America isn't the greatest country in the world. Another speech, another win!

And then there's Jon Stewart, who won a record 10 Emmys as Best Variety Series for "The Daily Show" by speechifying in every single episode. (He was dethroned this year by yet another wordsmith, Stephen Colbert.)

If speeches are key to winning Emmys, then this new one from Spader might be a shoo-in for a win. He'd follow in the footsteps of recent Emmy-winning stars from action dramas Damian Lewis ("Homeland") and Kiefer Sutherland ("24").

But the tricky part for Spader is just getting nominated first. That's not an easy task seeing as how "The Blacklist" airs on NBC and the Emmys seem to have a current love affair with cable and streaming series.

Get Gold Derby's free news alerts and predictions
The good news for Spader is that he was just nominated for a Golden Globe award. His competition this year in the Best TV Drama Actor race are all eligible for the Emmy as well: Bryan Cranston ("Breaking Bad"), Liev Schreiber ("Ray Donovan"), Michael Sheen ("Masters of Sex") and Kevin Spacey ("House of Cards").

After you watch the video below, be sure to vote for who you think will win this Globe race using our easy drag-and-drop menu.


Make your Emmy & reality TV predictions.
Win prizes: $100 to $1,000.
pop up close


MAKE YOUR PREDICTIONS HERE & NOW: Win prizes, compete against experts, fans and your friends

WIN weekly prizes: Predict "America's Got Talent," "Big Brother" and "So You Think You Can Dance": Win $100 Amazon Gift Certificates.

Predict Emmy Awards winners: Win BIG prizes, bragging rights, top spot on our leaderboards and a place of honor on next year's Top 24 Users (see what this year's are predicting to win below).

CLICK HERE TO GET STARTED. We'll send you personal notifications of your scores.


News Headlines
Hot Links from the Web

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Photo Galleries: Oscars, Emmys, ...