Blog: News & Views

Will Robert Lopez ('Frozen') become 12th member of exclusive EGOT club?

By Chris Beachum
By Chris Beachum
Jan 16 2014 06:29 am

Composer Robert Lopez is poised to become a member of EGOT -- one of the most exclusive clubs in entertainment -- if he wins an Academy Award on March 2. He will become just the 12th person to have won an Emmy, Grammy, Oscar, and Tony.

Lopez reaped his first ever Oscar nomination -- along with his wife Kristen Anderson-Lopez -- in the Best Original Song category for "Let It Go" from the animated hit "Frozen." They are competing against songs from "Alone Yet Not Alone," "Despicable Me 2," "Her," and "Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom."

His first major award was a 2004 Tony for Best Original Score of "Avenue Q." He also earned two more Tonys for "The Book of Mormon" in 2011 for Best Original Score and Best Book of a Musical.

That latter musical created by "South Park" veterans Trey Parker and Matt Stone brought Lopez a Grammy in 2012 for Best Musical Theater Album.

He picked up Daytime Emmys in 2008 and 2010 for his music direction and composition of "The Wonder Pets."

In order of achievement, the other 11 EGOT members are: composer Richard Rodgers (1962), actress Helen Hayes (1977), actress Rita Moreno (1977), actor John Gielgud (1991), actress Audrey Hepburn (1994), composer Marvin Hamlisch (1995), orchestrator Jonathan Tunick (1997), actor/writer/composer Mel Brooks (2001), comedian/director Mike Nichols (2001), actress Whoopi Goldberg (2002), and producer Scott Rudin (2012).

At age 39, Lopez would also be the youngest EGOT winner by several years. The current record-holder is Moreno, who won her Emmy Award at age 45 to complete the grand slam.

Three people have received honorary awards but are not considered to be part of the EGOT club as they didn't win them in competition: Barbra Streisand has a honorary Tony from 1970. Liza Minnelli received a Grammy legend award in 1990 and James Earl Jones received an honorary Oscar in 2011.

Besides Lopez and Jones, there are 13 other living performers who have achieved Emmy/Grammy/Tony wins and only need an Oscar to reach EGOT status. They are: actor/singer Harry Belafonte, composer Martin Charnin, writer Anne Garefino, composer John Kander, singer/songwriter Cyndi Lauper, composer John McDaniel, actress Cynthia Nixon, Parker and Stone, composer Marc Shaiman, composer Charles Strouse, actress Lily Tomlin, and actor Dick Van Dyke.


Oscars: Complete list of nominations

Will Jennifer Lawrence become youngest ever two-time Oscar winner?

Going for double Oscar gold: Jennifer Lawrence, Sandra Bullock, Julia Roberts ...

Oscar nominations analysis: What's up ('American Hustle') and what's down ('12 Years a Slave')

David O. Russell makes Oscars history as second film ('American Hustle') sweeps acting categories

Shocking Oscar nominations snubs: Oprah, Robert Redford, Tom Hanks (x2) ...

Oprah? No-prah! Did she peak too soon this Oscar derby?

Do most Oscar nominations make either 'American Hustle' or 'Gravity' a lock for Best Picture?

Can '12 Years a Slave' win Best Picture without having most overall Oscar nominations?

Will Robert Lopez ('Frozen') become 12th member of exclusive EGOT club?

Oscar nominations by the numbers: Which films came out on top?

'American Hustle,' 'Gravity' lead Oscar nominations with 10 apiece

Related News
Follow Gold Derby
Click Here


Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Hot Links from the Web
Inside Track: Emmy Voting

EXCLUSIVE: See the episodes
submitted to Emmy judges
by actors and TV series

Every actor submits only one sample episode, which will be judged by other actors (ranging from 25 to 75 per category jury) between July 28 and August 14. TV series submit six, which will be split into three pairs to be distributed randomly to about 300 voters. We now have uncovered every single title submitted for the 2014 races. CLICK HERE FOR THE EPISODES

We analyze the pros and cons
of episodes submitted by actors
to Emmy judges

Who submitted well? Click links below to read our in-depth analysis of each actor's episode entry. 

Dylan Baker ("The Good Wife")
Beau Bridges ("Masters of Sex")
Reg E. Cathey ("House of Cards")
Paul Giamatti ("Downton Abbey") 
obert Morse ("Mad Men")
Joe Morton ("Scandal")

Kate Burton ("Scandal")
Jane Fonda ("The Newsroom")
Allison Janney ("Masters of Sex")
Kate Mara ("House of Cards")
Margo Martindale ("The Americans")
Diana Rigg ("Game of Thrones")

Steve Buscemi ("Portlandia")
Louis C.K. ("SNL")
Gary Cole ("Veep")
Jimmy Fallon ("SNL")
Nathan Lane ("Modern Family")
Bob Newhart ("The Big Bang Theory")

Uzo Aduba ("OITNB")
Laverne Cox ("OITNB")
Joan Cusack ("Shameless")
Tina Fey ("SNL")
Melissa McCarthy ("SNL")
Natasha Lyonne ("OITNB")


Photo Galleries: Oscars, Emmys, ...
Emmy Nominees: Video Interviews
Subscribe to our free news service