ASC brings cinematographers into focus for Oscars

Monday’s announcement of the five contenders for the American Society of Cinematographers prize in the feature film category is topped by Roger Deakins for “True Grit.” Deakins, who will be feted at this year’s silver anniversary edition of the ASC awards for his lifetime of achievement, has two wins (“The Shawshank Redemption,” 1994; “The Man Who Wasn’t There,” 2001) to show for his previous nine nods. However, he remains without an Oscar despite eight bids.

The other ASC contenders are Wally Pfister who picked up his third bid for “Inception” (his other two nods were also for working with helmer Christopher Nolan on “Batman Begins” and “The Dark Knight”) and first-time nominees Danny Cohen (“The King’s Speech),  Jeff Cronenweth (“The Social Network”) and Matthew Libatique (“Black Swan”).

Last year, first-time ASC contender Christian Berger, who filmed “The White Ribbon,” edged out nine-time nominee Robert Richardson for “Inglourious Basterds,” past ASC champ Dion Beebe (“Memoirs of a Geisha”) who picked up his third nod for “Nine,” and two other first-time ASC nominees —  Barry Ackroyd, who shot “The Hurt Locker,” and Mauro Fiore, who lensed “Avatar.” Fiore went on to win the Oscar.

Over the 24-year history of these awards, the ASC choice for the best in the business has presaged the eventual winner at the Academy Awards 12 times. And the ASC has predicted 92 of the 120 Oscar nominees. The ASC winner will be named on Feb.13 during the awards celebration at the Grand Ballroom of Hollywood & Highland .

Photo: American Society of Cinematographers Awards logo. Credit: ASC

More News from GoldDerby