‘Boardwalk Empire,’ ‘Breaking Bad’ & ‘Modern Family’ lead WGA TV noms

“Boardwalk Empire” and “Breaking Bad” both picked up three bids — Best Drama Series and two individual episodes — for the Writers Guild of America Awards. The kudos will be handed out on Feb. 19 during simultaneous ceremonies held in New York and Los Angeles. 

At this year’s Emmys, “Breaking Bad” was ineligible as it do not air any new episodes while “Boardwalk Empire” was snubbed in the writing race which was won by Jason Katims for the final episode of “Friday Night Lights.” At last year’s WGA Awards, “Lights” was among those defeated for the third year in a row by “Mad Men” which like “Lights” is out of the running this year as it did not air any new episodes. 

Last year, “Modern Family” ended the three-year winning streak of “30 Rock” as Best Comedy Series though that laffer won a third consecutive individual episode award. “Modern Family” scribes Steven Levitan and Jeffrey Richman won the Emmy for “Caught in the Act” which now contends for honors with the WGA.

Recent Emmy champ Julian Fellowes was ineligible with the WGA for British import “Downton Abbey.” Two of his Emmy rivals — Todd Haynes & Jon Raymond (“Mildred Pierce”) and Peter Gould (“Too Big to Fail”) —  contend for Long Form (Adapted). 

“Boardwalk Empire”
Written by Bathsheba Doran, Dave Flebotte, Howard Korder, Steve Kornacki, Itamar Moses, Margaret Nagle, Terence Winter

“Breaking Bad”
Written by Sam Catlin, Vince Gilligan, Peter Gould, Gennifer Hutchison, George Mastras, Thomas Schnauz, Moira Walley-Beckett

“Game of Thrones”
Written by David Benioff, Bryan Cogman, Jane Espenson, George R.R. Martin, D.B. Weiss

“The Good Wife”
Written by Courtney Kemp Agboh, Meredith Averill, Corinne Brinkerhoff, Leonard Dick, Keith Eisner, Karen Hall, Ted Humphrey, Michelle King, Robert King, Steve Lichtman, Matthew Montoya, Julia Wolfe

Written by Henry Bromell, Alexander Cary, Alex Gansa, Howard Gordon, Chip Johannessen, Gideon Raff, Meredith Stiehm

“30 Rock”
Written by Jack Burditt, Hannibal Buress, Kay Cannon, Robert Carlock, Tom Ceraulo, Vali Chandrasekaran, Tina Fey, Jon Haller, Matt Hubbard, Colleen McGuinness, Dylan Morgan, John Riggi, Josh Siegal, Ron Weiner, Tracey Wigfield

“Curb Your Enthusiasm”
Written by Alec Berg, Larry David, David Mandel, Jeff Schaffer

Written by Pamela Adlon, Louis C.K.

“Modern Family”
Written by Paul Corrigan, Abraham Higginbotham, Ben Karlin, Elaine Ko, Carol Leifer, Steven Levitan, Christopher Lloyd, Dan O’Shannon, Jeffrey Richman, Brad Walsh, Ilana Wernick, Bill Wrubel, Danny Zuker

“Parks & Recreation”
Written by Greg Daniels, Katie Dippold, Daniel J. Goor, Norm Hiscock, Emily Kapnek, Dave King, Greg Levine, Aisha Muharrar, Chelsea Peretti, Amy Poehler, Brian Rowe, Michael Schur, Mike Scully, Emily Spivey, Alan Yang, Harris Wittels

Written by David Crane, Jeffrey Klarik

“Game of Thrones”
Written by David Benioff, Bryan Cogman, Jane Espenson, George R.R. Martin, D.B. Weiss

Written by Henry Bromell, Alexander Cary, Alex Gansa, Howard Gordon, Chip Johannessen, Gideon Raff, Meredith Stiehm; Showtime

“The Killing”
Written by Linda Burstyn, Jeremy Doner, Soo Hugh, Dan Nowak, Nic Pizzolatto, Dawn Prestwich, Veena Sud, Nicole Yorkin, Aaron Zelman

“New Girl”
Written by Nick Adams, Rachel Axler, Brett Baer, Donick Cary, Dave Finkel, Berkley Johnson, Josh Malmuth, Elizabeth Meriwether, J.J. Philbin, Joe Port, Luvh Rakhe, Joe Wiseman

“A Dangerous Maid” (Boardwalk Empire), Written by Itamar Moses

“The Age of Reason” (Boardwalk Empire), Written by Bathsheba Doran

“Box Cutter” (Breaking Bad), Written by Vince Gilligan

“End Times” (Breaking Bad), Written by Thomas Schnauz & Moira Walley-Beckett

“The Good Soldier” (Homeland), Written by Henry Bromell

“Just Let Go” (Dexter), Written by Jace Richdale

“Caught in the Act” (Modern Family), Written by Steven Levitan & Jeffrey Richman

“Goodbye Michael, Part 2” (The Office), Written by Greg Daniels

“Mother’s Day” (Modern Family), Written by Dan O’Shannon & Ilana Wernick

“Object Impermanence” (Weeds), Written by Stephen Falk

“PDA” (The Office), Written by Robert Padnick

“Queen of Jordan” (30 Rock), Written by Tracey Wigfield

“Cinema Verite”
Written by David Seltzer

“Pearl,” Written by Deirdre O’Connor, “Charlotte,” Written by Stephen Godchaux, “Cheyanne,” Written by Howard Morris, “Lili,” Written by Jill Gordon, “Mia,” Written by Wendy West

“Mildred Pierce”
Teleplay by Todd Haynes & Jon Raymond, Based on the novel by James M. Cain

“Too Big to Fail”
Written by Peter Gould, Based on the book written by Andrew Ross Sorkin

More News from GoldDerby