‘Bold and the Beautiful’ and Oprah shine at the Daytime Emmys

At the Daytime Emmys held Sunday night at the Las Vegas Hilton, “The Bold and the Beautiful” won Best Drama Series plus prizes for Best Younger Actor (Scott Clifton), Supporting Actress (Heather Tom) and Best Directing. It’s the third win in a row for “The Bold and the Beautiful” as top series, tying it with “General Hospital” (1995-1997) and “Santa Barbara” (1988-1990) for most consecutive victories.

Other Daytime Emmy champs included Michael Park (Best Lead Actor, “As the World Turns”) and Laura Wright (Best Lead Actress, “General Hospital“). The race for Best Supporting Actor was won by Jonathan Jackson (“General Hospital”). Back in 1999, Jackson and Tom both won the younger acting awards. This year,  Brittany Allen claimed Best Younger Actress for “All My Children,” the show’s only acting award of the night.

“The Young and the Restless” didn’t go home empty-handed. It won the award for Best Writing and tied with “Bold and the Beautiful” for Best Directing. The “Young and the Restless” helming team has won 11 out of 22 nominations.

“General Hospital” had come into the evening with six wins at the Creative Arts Awards on Friday: Art Direction, Casting, Lighting Direction, Original Song, Technical Direction, and Stunt Coordination. With its two telecast wins, it tied the record of eight awards that it set back in 1999. Since then both “As the World Turns” (2001) and “All My Children” (2003) have equalled that mark.

Log your predictions in top Emmy races. Compete against experts!

It was a night of ties, including Best Game Show, which was awarded to both “Jeopardy!” and “Wheel of Fortune.” It was the twelfth victory for “Jeoaprdy!” but the first for the long-running “Wheel.” Harry Friedman, who produces both shows, was caught off guard after accepting his first award to be called back on his stage to claim his second. Best Game Show Host was awarded to Ben Bailey for “Cash Cab.” He won this award last year, but this year he almost wasn’t present to accept: he was in the restroom when his category was announced.

“The Ellen DeGeneres Show” won Best Talk Show (Entertainment for the sixth time and is now tied with “Donahue” and “The Merv Griffin Show” as the second most awarded talker. “The Oprah Winfrey Show” has the most all-time wins with nine. Best Talk Show Host was a tie between Mehmet Oz, who won his second consecutive prize for “The Dr. Oz Show” (which also won Best Informative Talk Show), and Regis Philbin and Kelly Ripa for “Live with Regis and Kelly.” Philbin won this category ten years ago when he was between co-hosts (Kathie Lee Gifford had left the show the previous year), but this is the first time he was won as part of a hosting team, and only the second time a show with multiple hosts has won (“The View” ladies won in 2009).

Even the Lifetime Achievement Award was a tie. Pat Sajak and Alex Trebek were not nominated for hosting their respective game shows this year, but were honored for their contributions to daytime television. But despite their achievement, it was the absentee Oprah Winfrey who was the night’s big winner, receiving an honorary award (she already won Lifetime Achievement back in 1998) and a lengthy tribute that included musical performances by Celine Dion and Gladys Knight.

More News from GoldDerby