Busy Philipps and Mike Rowe among Critics’ Choice TV Awards surprises

Now that the first Critics’ Choice Television Awards are finished, the debate can begin. Were the winners deserving? Who was robbed? Among the winners were many performers who already own Emmys. However, there were also a few surprises: Busy Philipps (“Cougar Town”) claimed Supporting Comedy Actress, Mike Rowe (“Dirty Jobs”) cleaned up as Reality Host and John Noble (“Fringe”) won Supporting Drama Actor. None of this trio has ever nabbed an Emmy nod.

While Philipps was ecstatic to take home her first major industry award, she joked that, even with this victory, she still wasn’t going to be nominated for an Emmy. And she’s probably right; none of our experts or our editors include Philipps in their Emmy predictions. Last year, “Cougar Town” was skunked by the Emmys; the comedy didn’t even receive a throwaway technical bid.

Philipps’ co-star Courtney Cox was also in the running Monday but she lost to Emmy darling Tina Fey (“30 Rock”). Fey’s win proved that the broadcast journalists aren’t always going to do their own thing. Sometimes there’s comfort in going with an old favorite instead of a newcomer.

VOTE FOR: Busy Philipps and Mike Rowe here.
Log your predictions for the Emmys. Compete against experts!

With undefeated Emmy champ Jeff Probst (“Survivor”) not even in contention at the Critics’ Choice Awards, the Reality Host race was one of the more interesting to predict. Was Cat Deeley going to take a break from hosting to accept her award? Would Emmy also-rans Tom Bergeron (“Dancing with the Stars”) or Ryan Seacrest (“American Idol”) finally prevail now that Probst wasn’t a contender? Or perhaps one of the non-competition hosts like Ty Pennington (“Extreme Makeover: Home Edition”) or Mike Rowe would stand tall and show the Emmys that they deserve recognition for their hard work?

The absentee Rowe won and it’ll be interesting to see if this translates into his first Emmy bid. That might prove to be his toughest job as in the first three years of the hosting category, the TV academy has only nominated emcees of competitive programs.


More News from GoldDerby