‘Catch Me If You Can’ dances off with leading 6 Astaire nominations

The Fred & Adele Astaire Awards honoring excellence in dance on Broadway and in film are celebrating their 30th anniversary this year. The kudos were established in cooperation with Fred Astaire and honor him and his sister, Adele, who starred together in ten Broadway musicals between 1917 and 1931.

The new tuner “Catch Me If You Can” reaped a leading six bids for these prizes which will be handed out on May 15 at the Skirball Center for the Performing Arts. Balletmaster Jacques D’amboise will receive the Douglas Watt Lifetime Achievement Award.

The 2011 nominating committee was chaired by Sylviane Gold. Members included: Melinda Atwood, Manny and Lani Azenberg, Bryan Bantry, Marge Champion, Wendy Federman, Barbara and Buddy Freitag, Anna Kisselgoff, Donna McKechnie, Bruce Michael, Wendy Perron, Lee Roy Reams, Andy Sandberg, Margaret Selby, Damian Woetzel and Adam Zotovich.

Rob Ashford (“How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying”)
Marguerite Derricks (“Wonderland”)
Kathleen Marshall (“Anything Goes”)
Jerry Mitchell (“Catch Me if You Can”)
Toby Sedgwick (“War Horse”)
Susan Stroman (“The Scottsboro Boys”)
Anthony Van Laast (“Sister Act”)
Danny Mefford (“Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson”)
Casey Nicholaw (“The Book of Mormon”)

Rachel de Benedet (“Catch Me if You Can”)
Sutton Foster (“Anything Goes”)
Jennifer Frankel (“Catch Me if You Can”)
J. Elaine Marcos (“Pricilla Queen of the Desert”)
Patina Miller (“Sister Act”)
Laura Osnes (“Anything Goes”)
Angie Schworer (“Catch Me if You Can”)
Megan Sikora (“How to Succeed”)
Samantha Zack (“How to Succeed”)

Nick Adams (“Priscilla, Queen of the Desert”)
Norbert Leo Butz (“Catch Me if You Can”)
Colman Domingo (“The Scottsboro Boys”)
Colin Donnell (“Anything Goes”)
Josh Gad (“The Book of Mormon”)
Joshua Henry (“Scottsboro Boys”)
Daniel Radcliffe (“How to Succeed”)
Aaron Tveit (“Catch Me if You Can”)

Benjamin Millepied (“Black Swan”)
Denise Faye/Joe Pizzi (“Burlesque”)
Michael Flatley (“Lord of the Dance 3D”)
Graeme Murphy/Janet Vernon (“Mao’s Last Dancer”)
Jamal Sims (“Step It Up 3D”)
Benoit-Swan Pouffer (“The Adjustment Bureau”)

More News from GoldDerby