Costume Design Guild nominees include ‘King’s Speech’ & ‘Social Network’

The Costume Designers Guild announced nominations for their 13th annual kudos in three categories of films: fantasy, contemporary and period. (VIEW GALLERY)

That latter category is where the majority of the eventual Oscar nominees originate. Last year, three of of the CDG choices for period film costumes made the final five at the Oscars, while in 2008 and 2007 four made the cut.

However, this year, the CDG only named three period nominees — “The Fighter,” “The King’s Speech” and “True Grit” — leaving the field open for some of the fantasy nominees — “Alice in Wonderland,” “The Tempest” and “TRON: Legacy” — to contend at the Oscars. Of the five contemporary nominees — “Black Swan,” “Burlesque,” “Inception,” “The Social Network” and “Wall Street 2” — only the first is poised to land an Oscar bid.

Last year, “The Young Victoria” — a sumptuous period picture — won both races, marking only the sixth time in the 12-year history of the CDG that their champ prevailed at the Oscars. Period pieces tend to win at the Oscars; the last fantasy film to prevail was “Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King” in 2003 while the last contemporary movie to win was “The Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert” in 1994.

The kudos, which also honor costume design in television and commercials take place Feb. 22 at the Beverly Hilton hosted by Kristin Davis. Tributes will be paid to Halle Berry (the Lacoste Spotlight Award), designer Julie Weiss (the Disaronno Career Achievement in Film and Television Award) and director Joel Schumacher (the Distinguished Collaborator Award).

“The Fighter” – Mark Bridges
“The King’s Speech” – Jenny Beavan
“True Grit “– Mary Zophres

“Alice in Wonderland” – Colleen Atwood
“The Tempest” – Sandy Powell
“TRON: Legacy” – Michael Wilkinson & Christine Bieselin Clark

“Black Swan” – Amy Westcott
“Burlesque” – Michael Kaplan
“Inception” – Jeffrey Kurland
“The Social Network” – Jacqueline West
“Wall Street: Money Never Sleeps” – Ellen Mirojnick

Beavan won an Oscar for “A Room With a View.” Atwood is a two-time Oscar champ for her work on Rob Marshall‘s first two films — “Chicago” and “Memoirs of a Geisha” — while Powell has three Oscars (“Shakespeare in Love,” “The Aviator” and “The Young Victoria”). 

More News from GoldDerby