David Letterman, Eddie Murphy feted at first Comedy Awards

At the first edtion of the Comedy Awards, David Letterman received the Johnny Carson Award for Comedic Excellence. And Eddie Murphy was honored with the Comedy Icon Award for his extraordinary contribution to the world of comedy. The ceremony was held at the Hammerstein Ballroom in Gotham and was produced by Don Mischer for MTV Networks.

Emmy champ “Modern Family” won Best Series as well as Best Directing. Two-time Emmy winner Alec Baldwin (“30 Rock”) took TV Actor and his show’s creator, Tina Fey, won Best Movie Actress for “Date Night.” “SNL” player Kristen Wiig was named TV Actress while Zach Galifianakis (“Dinner for Schmucks”) was Best Movie Actor. The film prize went to “The Other Guys.” The animated awards went to “Toy Story 3” and “South Park.”

Nominees were named by a board of directors that included Billy Crystal, Whoopi Goldberg and Joan Rivers while nearly 1,000 members of the comedy community — including writers, producers, performers and directors — determined the winners. Fans voted for Breakthrough Performer (Daniel Tosh) and Viral Video (“Auto-Tune the News: Bed Intruder Song”).

The kudocast will air across a variety of channels, including Comedy Central, MTV, VH1, TV Land, CMT, Spike and Nick at Nite on Sunday, April 10 at 9:00 p.m. ET/PT.

More News from GoldDerby