Expect lots of drama on Emmys ballot

Just as with the comedy side of the Emmys equation, there will be a slew of new contenders on the drama front when the official nominating ballots are released on Monday, June 6. And many past champs and nominees will be missing in inaction, as their shows have either signed off or are on extended breaks.

Drama Series: New series include “Blue Bloods,” “Boardwalk Empire,” “Body of Proof,” “The Borgias,” “Covert Affairs,” “Game of Thrones,” “Harry’s Law,” “Hawaii Five-0,” “The Killing,” “Rizzoli & Isles,” “Shameless,” and “The Walking Dead.” Absent this year will be  two-time nominees “Breaking Bad” and “Damages” which aired no new episodes this season. Gone forever are three past winners of this race: “Law & Order” (1997, plus 10 more nominations) “Lost,” (2005, plus three more nominations), “24” (2006, plus four more nominations) and 2007 nominee “Heroes.”

Drama Actor: New contenders include Sean Bean (“Game of Thrones”), three-time nominee Steve Buscemi (“Boardwalk Empire”), two-time Emmy winner Jeremy Irons (“The Borgias”), Andrew Lincoln (“The Walking Dead”), two-time Emmy winner William H. Macy (“Shameless”) and the 1984 victor of this race for “Magnum P.I.” Tom Selleck (“Blue Bloods”). Reigning three-time champ Bryan Cranston (“Breaking Bad”) was ineligible this year while the men of “Treme” are now contending in the supporting race. And 2006 winner Kiefer Sutherland signed off after eight seasons of “24.”

Drama Actress: New contenders include Sasha Alexander (“Rizzoli & Isles”), eight-time nominee Kathy Bates (“Harry’s Law”), Sarah Wayne Callies (“The Walking Dead”), two time winner of this race in 1989 and 1992 for “China Beach” Dana Delany (“Body of Proof”), Mireille Enos (“The Killing”), Angie Harmon (“Rizzoli & Isles”), Lena Headey (“Game of Thrones”), Piper Perabo (“Covert Affairs”), and Emmy Rossum (“Shameless”). Elisabeth Moss (“Mad Men”) is back in this race after dropping down to supporting last year. Absent from the ballot is 2008 and 2009 winner Glenn Close as “Damages” did not air this season.

Log your predictions in all top Emmy races. Compete against experts!

Drama Supporting Actor: New contenders include Scott Caan (“Hawaii Five-0”), Billy Campbell (“The Killing”), Alan Cumming (upped from his nominated guest star role on “The Good Wife”), Peter Dinklage (“Game of Thrones”), two-time Emmy champ Derek Jacobi (“The Borgias”), Irrfan Khan (“In Treatment”), Michael Pitt (“Boardwalk Empire”), Brent Sexton (“The Killing”), Michael Shannon (“Boardwalk Empire”), Michael Stuhlbarg (“Boardwalk Empire”), and Donnie Wahlberg (“Blue Bloods”). Last year’s winner of this race Aaron Paul (“Breaking Bad”) was ineligible this year as was nominee Martin Short (“Damages”). And with “Lost” wrapped forever, two more of last year’s nominees — Michael Emerson and Terry O’Quinn — won’t be on the ballot. O’Quinn won this race in 2007 while Emerson prevailed in 2009.

Drama Supporting Actress: New contenders include four-time nominee Lorraine Bracco (“Rizzoli & Isles”), Michelle Forbes (“The Killing”), Holliday Grainger (“The Borgias”), Regina King (moving from lead for “Southland”), Emmy champ Kelly Macdonald (“Boardwalk Empire”), Margo Martindale (“Justified”), Bridget Moynahan (“Blue Bloods”), Emmy champ Mary Kay Place (upped from her nominated guest star role on “Big Love”), Amy Ryan (“In Treatment”), and Debra Winger (“In Treatment”). Two-time nominee Rose Byrne (“Damages”) was ineligible while Elisabeth Moss (“Mad Men”) moved to lead.

More News from GoldDerby