First Emmy winners are ‘Gettysburg’ costumes and 7 animators



While the overwhelming majority of Emmy winners are decided by ballots cast by viewing panels, five categories are judged by juries: lndividual Achievement in Animation; Choreography; Costumes for Variety/Music Program or Special; Creative Achievement in Interactive Media; and Exceptional Merit in Nonfiction Filmaking. 

As per the Emmy rules, all entrants are screened by a jury of professionals in the peer group, with the possibility of one, more than one or no entry is awarded an Emmy. There are no nominations. Deliberations are an open discussion of the work of each entrant, with a thorough review of the merits of awarding the Emmy. At the conclusion of the deliberation on each entry, the jury votes on the question, “Is this entry worthy of an Emmy award – yea or nay?” Only those in unanimous approval win. They receive their Emmys during the Creative Arts Awards on Sept. 10

On Wednesday, the TV academy announced those that passed such stringent muster in two of these categories. The costumes of the History Channel special “Gettysburg” won over a jury as did the work of the following seven animators:

Drew Hodges, Character Animator (“Community” – Abed’s Uncontrollable Christmas)

Jill Daniels, Background Painter & Brian Woods, Background Design (“Disney Phineas And Ferb” – Wizard Of Odd)
Peter Chung, Character Design & Sung Chang, Character Animator (“Firebreather”)
Vanessa Marzaroli, Production Design (“Lilac Wine”)
Philip Bourassa, Character Design (“Young Justice” – Independence Day)

Stay on top of the Emmy races – Get free Gold Derby News Updates


More News from GoldDerby