‘Downton Abbey’ and ‘Mildred Pierce’ lead with 4 Golden Globe nominations

A pair of miniseries — Emmy champ “Downton Abbey” and “Mildred Pierce” — led with four Golden Globe nominations each while a trio of series — “Boardwalk Empire,” “Homeland” and “Modern Family” — reaped three bids apiece as did the miniseries “The Hour.” (See full list of nominations here.)

The Hollywood Foreign Press Assn. has cooled on last year’s leading contender “Glee” which went from five bids to one — defending its Comedy Series title. Its competition: reigning two-time Emmy champ “Modern Family” and newcomers “Enlightened,” “Episodes” and “New Girl.” 2008 Globe winner “30 Rock” does not contend for the first time in five years. 

Reigning Drama Series champ “Boardwalk Empire” faces off against four newcomers: “American Horror Story,” “Boss,” “Game of Thrones” and “Homeland.” Dropped from the line-up were last year’s hot new show “The Walking Dead” and Emmy contender “The Good Wife.” 

Last year’s Comedy/Musical Actor champ and reigning two-time Emmy winner Jim Parsons (“The Big Bang Theory”) was snubbed in favor of his co-star Johnny Galecki. He contends against 2009 winner Alec Baldwin (“30 Rock”), returning nominee Thomas Jane (“Hung”), David Duchovny (“Californication”) who is back after being ineligible last year, and newcomer Matt LeBlanc (“Episodes”).  

Reigning Comedy/Musical Actress winner Laura Linney (“The Big C”) is in contention against two-time champ Tina Fey (“30 Rock,” 2007; 2008), returning nominee Amy Poehler (“Parks and Recreation”) and rookies Laura Dern (“Enlightened”) and Zooey Deschanel (“New Girl”). The HFPA really didn’t take to Emmy champ Melissa McCarthy (“Mike & Molly”) who was also snubbed on the film side for “Bridesmaids.” 

Last year’s Drama Actor Steve Buscemi (“Boardwalk Empire”) is back while three-time Emmy champ Bryan Cranston (“Breaking Bad”) is still looking for his first Globe win. They contend against newcomers Kelsey Grammer (“Boss”), Jeremy Irons (“The Borgias”) and Damian Lewis (“Homeland”). MIA: two-time champ Hugh Laurie (“House,” 2007, 2008) after six consecutive bids and 2009 winner Michael C. Hall (“Dexter”) who was snubbed after five straight nods. 

Last year’s Drama Actress winner Katey Sagal (“Sons of Anarchy”) was snubbed. 2009 winner Julianna Margulies (“The Good Wife”) competes against a quartet of race rookies: Claire Danes (“Homeland”), Mireille Enos (“The Killing”), Madeline Stowe (“Revenge”) and Callie Thorne (“Necessary Roughness”). 

Four of the five Movie/Miniseries contenders competed at the Emmys: “Cinema Verite,” “Downton Abbey,” “Mildred Pierce” and “Too Big to Fail.” The recently aired “The Hour” rounds out the race.  

Emmy winner Kate Winslet (“Mildred Pierce”) faces off against her Emmy rivals Diane Lane (“Cinema Verite”) and Elizabeth McGovern (“Downton Abbey”) as well as Romola Garia (“The Hour”) and Emily Watson (“Appropriate Adult”).

Emmy champ Barry Pepper (“The Kennedys”) was snubbed by the Globes though fellow nominees Idris Elba (“Luther”) and William Hurt (“Too Big to Fail”) contend. Also in the race — Hugh Bonneville (“Downton Abbey”), Bill Nighy (“Page Eight”) and Dominic West (“The Hour”). 

The catch-all Supporting Actor category pits two Emmy winners — Peter Dinklage (Drama, “Game of Thrones”) and Guy Pearce (Movie/Mini, “Mildred Pierce”) — against Paul Giamatti (“Too Big to Fail”), Tim Robbins (“Cinema Verite”) and 2010 Emmy winner Eric Stonestreet (“Modern Family”). Last year’s winner Chris Colfer (“Glee”) was snubbed as was current Emmy comedy winner Ty Burrell (“Modern Family”). 

Emmy champ Maggie Smith (“Downton Abbey”) contends for Supporting Actress against Emmy rival Evan Rachel Wood (“Mildred Pierce”), returning nominees Kelly McDonald (“Boardwalk Empire”) and Sofia Vergara (“Modern Family”) and rookie Jessica Lange (“American Horror Story”). Last year’s winner Jane Lynch (“Glee”) was snubbed as was current Emmy comedy winner Julie Bowen (“Modern Family”). 

More News from GoldDerby