HBO dominates with nine DGA TV nominations

The paycaster is assured of winning the TV Movie or Mini-Series race as it swept the category. Emmy champ Mick Jackson contends here as well for “Temple Grandin” as does Barry Levinson for “You Don’t Know Jack.” And three of the helmers on “The Pacific” are in the running — David Nutter, Jeremy Podeswa and Tim Van Patten.

For Drama Series direction, its new marquee series “Boardwalk Empire” earned nods for Oscar champ Martin Scorsese and Allan Coulter. David Nutter reaped a bid for the laffer “Entourage” while John C. Moffitt vies in the Musical Variety category for the Bill Maher special “… But I’m Not Wrong.”

The other Drama Series contenders are Jack Bender for the “Lost” finale, Frank Darabont for the pilot of “The Walking Dead” and Jennifer Getzinger for the much-hailed “Mad Men” episode “The Suitcase.” Another helmer on “Mad Men” — Leslie Linka Glatter — won this race last year.

The other Comedy Series nominees are two “Modern Family” directors — Steve Levitan (“Hawaii”) and Michael Spiller (“Halloween” — as well as Beth McCarthy Miller for the live “30 Rock” and “Glee” creator Ryan Murphy for “The Power of Madonna.” Last year, Jason Winer won for the pilot of “Modern Family.”

Winners will be revealed at the guild’s 63rd annual awardsfest on Jan. 29. Due to an ongoing labor dispute at their long-time home at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza Hotel, the kudos have been shifted to the Grand Ballroom in the Hollywood & Highland complex. Documentary nominees will be announced on Wednesday. For the full list of nominees, visit the DGA website.

Image: Directors Guild of America logo (DGA)

More News from GoldDerby