Jason Sudekis to host MTV Movie Awards

“SNL” funny man Jason Sudekis has been tapped to host the 20th anniversary edition of the MTV Movie Awards on June 5.  He is the eighth current or former castmate from this NBC staple to emcee this free-wheeling kudosfest.

The “SNL” connection dates back to the first year of the MTV Movie Awards in 1992 when Dennis Miller handled the hosting. Eddie Murphy emceed the following year with Jon Lovitz taking a turn at the mike in 1995. In 1996, Janeane Garofalo was center stage and Mike Myers was at the podium in both 1997 and 2008. Jimmy Fallon handled hosting in both 2001 and 2005 and Andy Samberg was in charge in 2009.

In making the announcement, MTV president Stephen Friedman said, “Smart and funny is the new rock and roll for our audience and that combo pretty much sums up Jason. He is a smartass and a gentleman who never goes for the easy or obvious joke. Because of that, he is the ideal Movie Awards host, and we are confident with him anchoring the show, our audience is in store for unexpected and crazy moments with Hollywood’s biggest stars and musicians.” For his part, Sudekis said, “I’m sincerely flattered that the folks from the Mostly Teenage Viewers network have invited me to host this year, and I look forward to keeping the streak of flawless and critically lauded movie awards show hosting in 2011 alive.”

While these awards include traditional categories such as Best Picture, they also hand out prizes in more offbeat races like Best Villain and Best Kiss. Nominations will be announced on May 3 with online voting to June 4 except for Best Picture which will remain open throughout the live ceremony. Last year, “Twilight: New Moon” dominated, taking home four awards including Best Picture and acting prizes for stars Robert Pattinson and Kristen Stewart.

More News from GoldDerby