Sara Ramirez sings her heart out on ‘Grey’s Anatomy’ [Video]

When Sara Ramirez was told that “Grey’s Anatomy” producers were planning a musical episode centered around her, she says, she, “went through a whole gamut of emotions … and excited at the chance to contribute to the show in a new way … it was a really huge gift.” She spoke frankly with Gold Derby senior editors Chris Beachum and Rob Licuria about the process of putting together the episode “Song Beneath the Song,” which aired to critical acclaim on March 31.

Ramirez revealed that the episode, “took two or three times longer than a regular episode to shoot, where days were devoted to songs … and some songs took many many days.” As she wryly noted, “I would almost want to apologize because people were hearing the same song … over and over again!”

While Ramirez has never been feted for her work on “Grey’s Anatomy,” she won a Tony Award in 2005 as Featured Actress in a Musical for her role as the Lady of the Lake in “Monty Python’s Spamalot,’ She likened that experience to a dream come true, especially the moment she heard James Earl Jones announce her name. She recalled, “how nervous I was to walk in that dress; I was wearing a very tight dress, so clearly I didn’t think I was going to have to go up those stairs” to accept the award!”

MAKE YOUR EMMY PREDICTIONS: Vote for Sara Ramirez and “Grey’s Anatomy” here.
Log your predictions in all top Emmy races. Compete against experts!

“Grey’s Anatomy,” which just wrapped its seventh season, is a one-time Emmy darling, with series bids for its first two full seasons. And while many of the cast have contended, only Katherine Heigl has won, taking the supporting actress award in 2007. The last performers to be nominated were Sandra Oh and Chandra Wilson in 2009, both lost to Cherry Jones in “24.”

There are numerous instances where actors in long-running series have made an appearance as Emmy nominees after years of being overlooked. Christopher Meloni had to wait until the seventh season of “Law & Order: Special Victims Unit” for a Drama Actor nod (losing to Kiefer Sutherland in “24”) while Drea de Matteo won her only Drama Supporting Actress bid for her fifth and final season on “The Sopranos.” Last year, Connie Britton and Kyle Chandler (from “Friday Night Lights”) were both finally recognized for their work on that show’s fourth season but were bested by Bryan Cranston (“Breaking Bad”) and Kyra Sedgwick (“The Closer”) respectively while Emmy vet Sharon Gless was nominated for the first time for the third season of “Burn Notice” losing to Archie Panjabi of “The Good Wife.”

More News from GoldDerby