Two past champs announcing this season’s Tony Awards contenders

Tony Awards winners Matthew Broderick and Anika Noni Rose take to the stage on the morning of May 3 to reveal who will be in contention for the 65th annual edition of these top theater honors. Rose won Featured Musical Actress for “Caroline or Change” in 2004 while Broderick has a pair of trophies — Featured Play Actor (“Brighton Beach Memoirs,” 1983) and Musical Actor (“How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying,” 1995).

The announcement will originate from the Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center at The New York Public Library for the Performing Arts at Lincoln Center and air in part on “The Early Show” on CBS and in full on the official website. The Tiffany network has aired the Tony Awards annually since 1978. This year’s ceremony will take place at the Beacon Theater on Manhattan’s Upper West Side on the evening of June 12.

Also on hand will be officials from the two groups that present these prizes. The American Theater Wing will be represented by chairman Ted Chapin and executive director Howard Sherman while the Broadway League will be repped by its executive director Charlotte St. Martin.

More News from GoldDerby