WGA Awards pair scripters and stars as presenters

The west coast of edition of the WGA Awards will be handed out Saturday with “Modern Family” mates Jesse Tyler Ferguson and Eric Stonestreet co-hosting the awardsfest at the Renaissance Hotel.

Among those presenting the prizes in Hollywood will be four performers with the men who have given them some of the their best lines: “Parks & Recreation” star Amy Poehler with the show’s writer-producer Greg Daniels; “Fringe” femme fatale Anna Torv with writer-director-producer J.J. Abrams; “As the World Turns” grande dame Eileen Fulton with director-executive producer Christopher Goutman; and Hank Azaria with writer Mitch Albom (“Tuesdays with Morrie”).

WGAW President and writer-director-producer John Wells will present the Guild’s Paul Selvin Award — given to those whose script highlights First Amendment and civil liberties issues — to “Fair Game” scribes Jez and John Henry Butterworth

Oscar-winning scripter Steven Zaillian (“Schindler’s List”) will receive the Screen Laurel Award from Amy Pascal, Scott Rudin and, via video link, Steven Spielberg while “Murphy Brown” star Candice Bergen and Michael Patrick King will present the Paddy Chayefsky Laurel Award for Television to that show’s creator Diane English.

And Emmy-winner Seth Freeman and Oscar nominee Susannah Grant will be feted for their contributions to the industry with the Valentine Davies Award presented by Allan Burns and Neal Baer.

More News from GoldDerby