WGA film winners: ‘The Social Network’ and ‘Inception’

As expected, Oscar frontrunner Aaron Sorkin won best adapted screenplay for “The Social Network”  at the Writers Guild of America Awards on Saturday. On Friday, the film about the founding of Facebook had won the USC Scripter Award for best adaptation of a written work. 

The Oscar-nominated Christopher Nolan won the original screenplay award for “Inception” against, among others, just one of the other Oscar nominees — “The Kids Are All Right.”  The Oscar frontrunner in this race — “The King’s Speech” — was ineligible to contend at the WGA. Only scripts written under the guild’s guidelines or those of several international partners were allowed to compete for these kudos.

While 248 films were in the running for Best Picture at the Oscars, only 43 of those had original scripts that could vie for WGA recognition while just 33 had adapted screenplays that could contend.

Besides “The King’s Speech,” another Best Original Screenplay Oscar nominee — “Another Year” — was also ineligible with the WGA while two Best Adapted Screenplay Oscar contenders — “Toy Story 3” and “Winter’s Bone” — were likewise ruled out of the running by the guild.

Last year, two of the eventual five Oscar nominees for Best Original Screenplay — “Inglorious Basterds” and “Up” — were not eligible for WGA consideration. Likewise, three of the Best Adapted Screenplay contenders — “District 9,” “An Education” and “In the Loop” — were left out of the running by the WGA. Indeed, only four of the 10 WGA nominees were deemed Oscar worthy: WGA winner “The Hurt Locker” which repeated at the Oscars and “A Serious Man” on the original front and eventual champ “Precious” and WGA winner “Up in the Air” on the adapted side.


“Black Swan,” screenplay by Mark Heyman and Andres Heinz and John McLaughlin; story by Andres Heinz

“The Fighter,” screenplay by Scott Silver and Paul Tamasy & Eric Johnson; story by Keith Dorrington & Paul Tamasy & Eric Johnson

“Inception,” written by Christopher Nolan

“The Kids Are All Right,” written by Lisa Cholodenko & Stuart Blumberg

“Please Give,” written by Nicole Holofcener


“127 Hours,” screenplay by Danny Boyle & Simon Beaufoy; based on the book “Between a Rock and a Hard Place” by Aron Ralston

“I Love You Phillip Morris,” written by John Requa & Glenn Ficarra; Based on the book by Steven McVicker

“The Social Network,” screenplay by Aaron Sorkin; based on the book “The Accidental Billionaires” by Ben Mezrich

“The Town,” screenplay by Peter Craig and Ben Affleck & Aaron Stockard; based on the novel “Prince of Thieves” by Chuck Hogan

“True Grit,” screenplay by Joel Coen & Ethan Coen; based on the novel by Charles Portis


“Enemies of the People,” written, directed, filmed and produced by Rob Lemkin and Thet Sambath

“Freedom Riders,” written, produced and directed by Stanley Nelson

“Gasland,” written and directed by Josh Fox

“Inside Job,” produced, written and directed by Charles Ferguson; co-written by Chad Beck, Adam Bolt

“The Two Escobars,” written by Michael Zimbalist, Jeff Zimbalist

“Who Is Harry Nilsson (And Why Is Everybody Talkin’ About Him)?,” written and directed by John Scheinfeld

More News from GoldDerby