Will Oscars continue transatlantic love affair with BAFTAs?

Since the BAFTAs moved forward in 2000 to take place while academy members are still voting, they have foreseen four Best Picture Oscar winners: “Gladiator” (2000), “The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King” (2003), “Slumdog Millionaire” (2008) and “The Hurt Locker” (2009).

Besides that top prize, “The Hurt Locker” won five of its other eight BAFTA bids: Director, Original Screenplay, Editing, Sound and Cinematography. It repeated for all of these save the last one at the Oscars which went to “Avatar.”

Both of last year’s BAFTA supporting acting champs went on to claim Oscars as well: Mo’Nique (“Precious”) and Christoph Waltz (“Inglorious Basterd”).

“Up” won both Animated Feature and Score at both BAFTA and the Oscars while “Avatar” also picked up the same prizes for Art Direction and Visual Effects. And Sandy Powell won Best Costumes on both sides of the pond for “The Young Victoria.”

Two years ago, Best Picture champ “Slumdog Millionaire” won first with BAFTA as did three of the four Oscar winners: Kate Winslet (“The Reader”), Heath Ledger (“The Dark Knight”) and Penelope Cruz (“Vicky Christina Barcelona”). BAFTA Best Actor winner Mickey Rourke (“The Wrestler”) lost the Oscar to Sean Penn (“Milk”).

While the British flick “Atonement” took the 2007 BAFTA Best Picture prize over eventual Oscar winner “No Country for Old Men,” all four BAFTA acting winners — Daniel Day-Lewis (“There Will Be Blood”), Marion Cotillard (“La Vie en Rose”), Javier Bardem (“No Country for Old Men”) and Tilda Swinton (“Michael Clayton”) — went on to repeat at the Oscars.

In 2006, her loyal subjects bowed down before “The Queen” for Best Picture edging out eventual Oscar champ “The Departed.” However, all four of the acting winners — Forrest Whitaker (“The Last King of Scotland”), Helen Mirren (“The Queen”), Alan Arkin (“Little Miss Sunshine”) and Jennifer Hudson (“Dreamgirls”) — went on to prevail at the Academy Awards as well.


What do “King’s Speech” BAFTA wins mean for Oscars?

‘The King’s Speech’ wins 7 BAFTAs; ‘Inception’ and ‘Social Network’ win 3

BAFTA Winners Announced

‘The King’s Speech’ makes BAFTA history

More News from GoldDerby