Writers Guild Award nominations hail ‘Social Network,’ snub ‘Rabbit Hole’

The Writers’ Guild of America has announced award nominees. Winners will be unveiled on Feb. 5.

Many notable award contenders aren’t listed because the films aren’t guild signatories, including “The King’s Speech,” “Winter’s Bone,” “Another Year,” “Toy Story 3” and “Blue Valentine.”

Movies that are eligible for WGA notice, but got snubbed anyway include “Get Low,” “Fair Game,” “Somewhere” and “You Will Meet a Tall Dark Stranger” (Woody Allen has been a guild darling in the past with four wins to show for 19 nominations). Most shocking is the omission of “Rabbit Hole,” which won the 2007 Pultizer Prize and was nominated for Best Play at the Tony Awards..


“Black Swan,” screenplay by Mark Heyman and Andres Heinz and John McLaughlin; story by Andres Heinz (Fox Searchlight)

“The Fighter,” screenplay by Scott Silver and Paul Tamasy & Eric Johnson; story by Keith Dorrington & Paul Tamasy & Eric Johnson (Paramount Pictures)

“Inception,” written by Christopher Nolan; Warner Bros.)

“The Kids Are All Right,” written by Lisa Cholodenko & Stuart Blumberg (Focus Features)

“Please Give,” written by Nicole Holofcener (Sony Pictures Classics)


“127 Hours,” screenplay by Danny Boyle & Simon Beaufoy; based on the book “Between a Rock and a Hard Place” by Aron Ralston (Fox Searchlight)

“I Love You Phillip Morris,” written by John Requa & Glenn Ficarra; Based on the book by Steven McVicker (Roadside Attractions)

“The Social Network,” screenplay by Aaron Sorkin; based on the book “The Accidental Billionaires” by Ben Mezrich (Sony Pictures)

“The Town,” screenplay by Peter Craig and Ben Affleck & Aaron Stockard; based on the novel “Prince of Thieves” by Chuck Hogan (Warner Bros.)

“True Grit,” screenplay by Joel Coen & Ethan Coen; based on the novel by Charles Portis (Paramount Pictures)


“Enemies of the People,” written, directed, filmed and produced by Rob Lemkin and Thet Sambath (International Film Circuit)

“Freedom Riders,” written, produced and directed by Stanley Nelson (International Film Circuit)

“Gasland,” written and directed by Josh Fox (HBO Documentary Films and International WOW Company)

“Inside Job,” produced, written and directed by Charles Ferguson; co-written by Chad Beck, Adam Bolt (Sony Pictures Classics)

“The Two Escobars,” written by Michael Zimbalist, Jeff Zimbalist (ESPN Films)

“Who Is Harry Nilsson (And Why Is Everybody Talkin’ About Him)?,” written and directed by John Scheinfeld (Lorber Films)

More News from GoldDerby