Carrie Underwood, Miranda Lambert, Lady Antebellum win CMT Music Awards

Carrie Underwood won Video of the Year for the third time at the 11th annual CMT Music Awards Wednesday. She picked up that prize for “Good Girl” (see video below) and also shared Best Collaboration with Brad Paisley for “Remind Me.” (Full list of the winners, as decided by popular vote, here.)

These two trophies bring her total to nine, equalling the record set by Taylor Swift. The 2005 “American Idol” champ’s two previous top prize-winning tunes were “Before He Cheats” (2007) and “Cowboy Casonva (2010) (

Swift was shut out of this year’s winner’s circle despite three bids for “Safe & Sound,” a collaboration with The Civil Wars that featured in “The Hunger Games.” 

Miranda Lambert had four bids but had to settle for just one win — Female Video for “Over You.” Her nominations had been divided evenly between solo efforts ans as part of the group Pistol Annies

However, it was Lady Antebellum that won the Group Video race with “We Owned the Night.” Sugarland claimed the Duo Video award for “I Got You.” 

Luke Bryan was as surprised as the pundits when he won Male Video for “I Don’t Want this Night to End.” One of his rival nominees, Jason Aldean, claimed his first CMT Award in the Performance category for his rendition of “Tattoos on this Town” on the CMT special “Artists of the Year.” 

Scotty McCreery, last year’s “American Idol” winner, received the Breakthrough Video award for “The Trouble with Girls.” 

More News from GoldDerby