‘W.E.,’ ‘Harry Potter’ and ‘Dragon Tattoo’ are Costume Design Guild winners

On Tuesday, “W.E.” won the period prize from the Costume Design Guild at their 14th annual awards while the final “Harry Potter” picture took the fantasy genre and “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo” claimed the contemporary category. 

“W.E” contends for the Oscar against three of the other period pictures in the running at the CDG — “The Artist,” “Jane Eyre” and “Hugo” — along with “Anonymous.” The final CDG nominee, “The Help,” was snubbed by the academy. 

“Hugo” costumer Sandy Powell already has three Oscars (“Shakespeare in Love,” “The Aviator” and “The Young Victoria”) while Arianne Phillips (“W.E.”) is a one-time nominee (“Walk the Line”).

“Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2” edged out “Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides,” “Red Riding Hood,” “Thor” and “X Men: First Class.” Jany Temime won for the final film in the franchise; she also contended for the fifth installment (“Order of the Phoenix”). Her predecessor, Judianna Makovsky, won for the first film (“Sorcerer’s Stone”). 

Trish Summerville edged out the other contemporary contenders: “Bridesmaids,” “The Descendants,” “Drive” and “Melancholia.”

Last year, two of the three CDG period nominees — “The King’s Speech” and “True Grit” — reaped Oscar bids. In 2009, three of the CDG choices for period film costumes made the final five at the Oscars while in both 2008 and 2007 four made the cut.

MAKE YOUR OSCAR PREDICTIONS: What Will Win Best Costume Design?

Forecast all races. Compete against experts!


By naming only three period pictures last year, the CDG left the Oscar field open and two of its fantasy nominees — “Alice in Wonderland” and “The Tempest” — made the grade with the Academy. Indeed, “Alice in Wonderland” won awards from both groups, marking the seventh time in the 13-year history of the the CDG that a champ of theirs prevailed at the Oscars. 

The last fantasy film to prevail at the Oscars before “Alice in Wonderland” was “Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King” in 2003 while the last contemporary movie to win was “The Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert” in 1994.

The kudos, which also honored costume design in television and commercials took place at the Beverly Hilton and were hosted by Jane Lynch

“The Artist”: Mark Bridges
“Jane Eyre”: Michael O’Connor
“The Help”: Sharen Davis
“Hugo”: Sandy Powell
X – “W.E.”: Arianne Phillips

X – “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2”: Jany Temime
“Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides”: Penny Rose
“Red Riding Hood”: Cindy Evans
“Thor”: Alexandra Byrne
“X-Men: First Class”: Sammy Sheldon

“Bridesmaids”: Leesa Evans & Christine Wada
“The Descendants”: Wendy Chuck
“Drive”: Erin Benach
X – “The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo”: Trish Summerville
“Melancholia”: Manon Rasmussen

X – “Boardwalk Empire”: John A. Dunn, Lisa Padovani
“The Borgias”: Gabriella Pescucci
“Game of Thrones”: Michele Clapton
“Once Upon a Time”: Eduardo Castro
“Pan Am”: Ane Crabtree

X – “Glee”: Loy Eyrich & Jennifer Eve
“Modern Family”: Alix Friedberg
“Revenge”: Jill Ohanneson
“Saturday Night Live”: Tom Broecker & Eric Justian
“Sons of Anarchy”: Kelli Jones

X – “Downton Abbey”: Susannah Buxton
“The Kennedys”: Christopher Hargadon
“Mildred Pierce”: Ann Roth

Carl’s Jr., “Miss Turkey”: Francine Lecoultre
Dos Equis, “The Most Interesting Man in the World”: Julie Vogel
X – Swiffer, “Country Dirt Girl”: Roseanne Fiedler

More News from GoldDerby