‘General Hospital,’ ‘Regis & Kelly’ big winners at Daytime Emmy Awards

The decision by ABC to renew “General Hospital” was vindicated when it won Best Drama Series at the Daytime Emmy Awards on Saturday. It also claimed three of the six acting prizes as well as the directing award. “GH” had picked up four prizes at last week’s Creative Arts ceremony (see report here) bringing its haul to nine wins (out of 23 nominations).  

The Daytime Emmys laud TV programming from 2:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. Besides daytime drama, other genres feted included talkers, game shows and children’s fare. (See full list of winners here.)

General Hospital” stalwart Anthony Geary claimed a record seventh Best Actor award while his on-screen son Jonathan Jackson repeated as Supporting Actor bring his total trophy haul to five (he won Younger Actor in 1995, 1998, 1999). And Nancy Lee Grahn won her second Supporting Actress award (her first was back in 1989 for “Santa Barbara.”) 

Heather Tom (“The Bold and the Beautiful“) edged out frontrunners Erika Slezak (“One Life to Live”) and Debbi Morgan (“All My Children”) to win Best Actress. Tom is the first performer to pull off the Daytime Emmy triple crown with earlier wins for Younger Actress (1993, 1999) and Supporting Actress (2011). 

Christel Khalil finally won Younger Actress with her fourth bid for her work on “Young and the Restless.” The Younger Actor award went to Chandler Massey (“Days of Our Lives”). That last remaining NBC soap shocked with its win for Writing Team over frontrunner “General Hospital” and sentimental favorite “All My Children.” Its only other victory in this competitive category was back in 1976. 

Regis Philbin and Kelly Ripa repeated as Best Talk Show Hosts and their show, “Live! with Regis and Kelly,” ended a two-year streak for “The Ellen DeGeneres Show” with its first win for Best Talk Show (Entertainment). Prior to the creation of this category in 2008, “Ellen” had claimed Best Talk Show for four consecutive years while the various incarnations of “Live!” had never prevailed in either race. 

The Dr. Oz Show” repeated as Best Talk Show (Informational) edging out 2010 winner “The Doctors” and newcomer “Anderson.”

Jeopardy!” claimed Best Game Show for the 14th time while Todd Newton (“Family Game Night”) won Best Game Show Host for the first time.

Today” broke its tie with rival nominee “Good Morning America” by winning Best Morning Show for a fourth time. 

Victorious for its first season was “Last Shot with Judge Gunn” which took Best Legal/Courtroom Show over three other rookie nominees. 

Sandra Lee won Best Culinary/Lifestyle Host for “Semi-Homemade Cooking” while Bobby Flay — who won that race in 2005 for “Boy and Grill” — took home his first Culinary Show award for “Barbecue Addiction.” 

More News from GoldDerby