DGA TV winners: ‘The Kennedys,’ ‘The Killing,’ ‘Curb Your Enthusiasm’

The Directors Guild of America handed out eight prizes for television alongside the higher profile film awards on Saturday. The TV Movie/Miniseries award went to Jon Cassar (“The Kennedy”) who won the 2006 Drama award for “24.” (See full list of winners here)

Among those he edged out were three neophyte helmers — Jennifer Aniston, Demi Moore and Alicia Keys — who worked on “Five” along with Penelope Spheeris and Patty Jenkins. This Lifetime anthology film which told the stories of five women coping with breast cancer. Also in the running were previous champ Jeff Bleckner for “Beyond the Blackboard,” Stephen Gyllenhaal (“Girl Fight”) and Michael Stevens (“Thurgood”).

-INSERTS:31-However, Jenkins prevailed in the Drama race for directing the pilot episode of “The Killing.” Her competitors were: Michael Cuesta (Pilot, “Homeland”); Vince Gilligan (Face Off, “Breaking Bad”), two-time comedy champ Tim Van Patten (Pilot, “Game of Thrones”) and Michael Waxman (Always, “Friday Night Lights”). 

Curb Your Enthusiasm” director Robert Weide ended the two-year winning streak for “Modern Family” winning the Comedy race for helming the “Palestinian Chicken” episode. He had contended seven years ago for another installment of this HBO laffer.

He defeated fellow “Curb” helmer David Steinberg (“The Divorce”), two “Modern Family” directors —  Fred Savage (“After the Fire”) and last year’s winner Michael Spiller (“Express Christmas”) — and “30 Rock” director Don Scardino (“Double-Edged Sword”).

Glenn Weiss won the Musical/Variety prize for the third time in four years for his helming of the Tony Awards. In all, he has reaped eight bids for this classy kudocast. Among those he edged out were ten-time DGA champ Don Mischer who reaped his 16th bid for helming last year’s Oscars, Louis J. Horvitz who picked up his sweet 16th nod for the 2010 Kennedy Center Honors (he won his only DGA award for the 1997 edition) as well as another eight-time nominee Chuck O’Neil (“The Daily Show”) and and five-time contender Don Roy King (“Saturday Night Live”).  

William Ludel prevailed for one of the two bids for “General Hospital” in the Daytime Serial category; this is his third win out of seven noms for the show. Neil P. DeGroot won the Reality race for “The Biggest Loser.” Amy Schatz picked up her fourth Children’s Programming prize for “Child’s Garden of Poetry.” And Noam Murro claimed the Commercial award. 

More News from GoldDerby