You decide: Can Jim Parsons win third consecutive Comedy Actor Emmy?

There are two guaranteed openings in the Emmy Award race for Comedy Actor with the departure of Steve Carell (“The Office”) and the ineligibility of Matt LeBlanc (“Episodes”) due to no new episodes this season.

Of the other four nominees from last year, reigning two-time champ Jim Parsons (“The Big Bang Theory”) and his co-star Johnny Galecki are expected to possibly return, as are two-time winner Alec Baldwin (“30 Rock”) and Louis C.K. (“Louie”).

MAKE YOUR EMMY PREDICTIONS: Who Will Win Best Comedy Actor?

Forecast all races. Compete against experts!


Four-time nominee Larry David (“Curb Your Enthusiasm”) is eligible once again and should be a strong bet to gain a slot. Matthew Morrison (“Glee”) is the only other man who has been nodded before for his current role.

With new lead billing on his show, it is also very possible that Emmy supporting winner Jon Cryer (“Two and a Half Men”) could move into the lead category. His new co-star Ashton Kutcher could also contend.

Actors who have attempted in previous seasons with no success are Kevin Connolly and Adrian Grenier (“Entourage”), David Duchovny (“Californication”), Neil Flynn (“The Middle”), Billy Gardell (“Mike and Molly”), Ed Helms (“The Office”; subbing for Carell?), Thomas Jane (“Hung”), Rob Lowe (“Parks and Recreation”), Joel McHale (“Community”), Lucas Neff (“Rasing Hope”), and Josh Radnor (“How I Met Your Mother”).

Rookie shows have the following eligible contenders: Tim Allen (“Last Man Standing”), Will Arnett (“Up All Night”), Don Cheadle (“House of Lies”), Warwick Davis (“Life’s Too Short”), Rob Schneider (“Rob”), Jeremy Sisto (“Suburgatory”), and Elijah Wood (“Wilfred”).

More News from GoldDerby