Emmy memoriam sure to salute TV legends Andy Griffith, Dick Clark, Mike Wallace

The memoriam segment on this year’s Emmys will be particularly poignant as many TV legends have passed away since the past ceremony.

Television Academy Hall of Fame members Dick Clark (“American Bandstand,” “New Year’s Rockin’ Eve”), Andy Griffith (“The Andy Griffith Show,” “Matlock”), Sherman Hemsley (“The Jeffersons,” “Amen”), Mike Wallace (“60 Minutes”), executive Daniel Burke (Capital Cities/ABC), and producer Bob Stewart (“Pyramid,” “The Price is Right”) will almost certainly be among those whose lives and careers are celebrated this Sunday.

Acting stars likely to feature in this tribute include: Ernest Borgnine (“McHale’s Navy,” “Airwolf”), Richard Dawson (“Hogan’s Heroes,” “Family Feud”), Phyllis Diller (“Hollywood Squares,” comedy specials), Michael Clarke Duncan (“The Finder”), Chad Everett (“Medical Center”), Ben Gazzara (“Run for Your Life”), Celeste Holm (“Promised Land”), Davy Jones (“The Monkees”), Kathryn Joosten (“Desperate Housewives,” “The West Wing”), Harry Morgan (“Dragnet,” “M*A*S*H”), and William Windom (“My World and Welcome to It,” “Murder, She Wrote”).

Among character actors and performers who passed away in the last year, the list is long: Frances Bay (“Seinfeld”), Peter Breck (“The Big Valley”), Janet Carroll (“Married…with Children,” “Murphy Brown”), Frank Cady (“Petticoat Junction,” “Green Acres”), James Farentino (“Dynasty,” “E.R.”), Steve Franken (“Dobie Gillis,” “Bewitched”), Al Freeman, Jr. (“One Life to Live,” “Homicide: Life on the Street”), Jonathan Frid (“Dark Shadows”), Alan Fudge (“Man from Atlantis,” “7th Heaven”), Jack Garner (“The Rockford Files”), Robin Gibb (variety specials), Don Grady (“My Three Sons”), Robert Hegyes (“Welcome Back, Kotter”), Dolores Hope (Bob Hope specials), Whitney Houston (variety specials), George Lindsey (“The Andy Griffith Show,” “Mayberry”), Sid Melton (“Green Acres,” “The Golden Girls”), Jerry Nelson (“Sesame Street,” “The Muppet Show”), John Neville (“The X Files”), Patrice O’Neal (comedy specials), Lupe Ontiveros (“Desperate Housewives”), Ron Palillo (“Welcome Back, Kotter”), Doris Singleton (“I Love Lucy”), Warren Stevens (“Bonanza,” “Ironside”), Leonard Stone (“Kraft Theatre”), Alan Sues (“Laugh-In”), Donna Summer (variety specials), Dick Tufeld (“Lost in Space”), Garry Walberg (“Quincy, M.E.”), and Yvette Wilson (“Moesha”).

Other executives and creative types who could be lauded include: costume designer Ray Aghayan (variety specials), director William Asher (“I Love Lucy,” “Bewitched”), director Paul Bogart (“All in the Family,” “The Defenders”), writer Dee Caruso (“Get Smart,” “The Monkees”), director/producer Gil Cates (“Academy Awards”), executive Brian Chambers (20th Century Fox), host/producer Don Cornelius (“Soul Train”), critic Judith Crist (TV Guide), writer Tom Davis (“Saturday Night Live”), casting director Marion Dougherty (“All in the Family”), writer Jack Elinson (“Make Room for Daddy,” “Good Times”), composer Joel Goldsmith (“Stargate”), executive Julian Goodman (NBC), composer Marvin Hamlisch (variety specials), writer Hal Kanter (“Julia,” “Academy Awards”), executive Steve Jobs (Apple), composer/conductor Mort Lindsey (“The Merv Griffin Show”), writer Stephen Lord (“Death Valley Days,” “Fantasy Island”), producer Sam Manners (“Route 66,” “The Wild Wild West”), costume designer Nolan Miller (“Dynasty”), researcher Arthur C. Nielsen, Jr., executive Jim Paratore (Warner Bros.), writer/producer Frank Pierson (TV movies, “Mad Men”), director John Rich (“All in the Family,” “The Dick Van Dyke Show”), producer/executive Lee Rich (“The Waltons,” “Dallas”), commentator Andy Rooney (“60 Minutes”), composer Pete Rugolo (“The Fugitive”), executive Steve Sabol (NFL Films), producer/director Tony Scott (“Numbers,” “The Good Wife”), composer Robert Sherman (“Wonderful World of Disney”), producer/director Mel Stuart (documentaries, specials), editor Neil Travis (“Roots”), and writer Digby Wolfe (“Laugh-In”).

More News from GoldDerby