‘Game of Thrones’ and ‘Breaking Bad’ win Television Critics Association Awards

Last year, “Game of Thrones” won Best New Program from the Television Critics Assn. On Saturday night, the HBO drama took the top prize — Program of the Year — at the 28th annual edition of these kudos while Showtime’s “Homeland” won the newcomer award. (See full list of winners here)


Ceremony host Bryan Cranston (“Breaking Bad“) and 2009 champ lost the drama acting race to “Homeland” star Claire Danes. However, his AMC show won over channel mate “Mad Men in the drama series category. It had taken this award in 2010, while “Mad Men” had won in 2008, 2009 and last year. 

All four of these shows contend for the Drama Series prize at the Emmys against “Downton Abbey” — which remains a mini in the eyes of the TCA — and “Boardwalk Empire.”

While that HBO series was snubbed by the TCA this year after contending for both Program of the Year and New Program last year, “Downton” won out over last year’s movie/mini champ “Sherlock.”  

What will win Best Drama Series?
Log your predictions in all top Emmy races. Compete against experts!

Sophomore laffer “Louie” took the comedy series award, besting two-time champ “Modern Family.” And star Louis C.K. won the individual comedy prize. 

Related: Will ‘Modern Family’ join legenedary laffers with third Comedy Series Emmy win? 

“Cheers,” which features in our photo gallery of three (or more) time Comedy Series Emmy champs, won the Heritage Award while David Letterman won the Career Achievement Award over, among others, the late Dick Clark and Andy Griffith

This marked the first year that women equalled the number of men nominated for the acting prizes. All 10 of the TCA nominees are in contention at the Emmys as well.

Danes was the only Drama Actress Emmy nominee recognized by the TCA. She won this award against Drama Actor Emmy rivals Cranston and last year’s TCA champ Jon Hamm (“Mad Men”), as well as two featured performers — Peter Dinklage (“Game of Thrones”) and Jessica Lange (“American Horror Story”). 

Three Comedy Actress Emmy contenders — Lena Dunham (“Girls”), Julia Louis-Dreyfus (“Veep”) and Amy Poehler (“Parks and Recreation”) — as well as reigning two-time Emmy champ Jim Parsons (“The Big Bang Theory”) were the other TCA nominees for the individual award in comedy. Ty Burrell, who won last year after losing for the first season of “Modern Family,” was snubbed. 

See full list of winners and nominees below. See the reactions of our posters in the forums.

Program of the Year
Breaking Bad” (AMC)
X – “Game of Thrones” (HBO)
“Homeland” (Showtime)
“Mad Men” (AMC)
Downton Abbey: Masterpiece” (PBS)

Outstanding Achievement – Drama
X – “Breaking Bad” (AMC)

”Game of Thrones” (HBO)

“Homeland” (Showtime)

”Justified” (FX)

”Mad Men” (AMC)

Outstanding Achievement – Comedy
“The Big Bang Theory” (CBS)

”Community” (NBC)
X – 
”Louie” (FX)

”Modern Family” (ABC)

”Parks and Recreation” (NBC)

Outstanding Achievement – Movies, Miniseries and Specials
X – “Downton Abbey: Masterpiece” (PBS)

“Game Change” (HBO)

”Hatfields & McCoys” (History)

”Hemingway & Gellhorn” (HBO)

”Sherlock: Masterpiece” (PBS)

Outstanding New Program
“Girls” (HBO)
X – 
”Homeland” (Showtime)

”New Girl” (Fox)

”Revenge” (ABC)

”Smash” (NBC)

Individual Achievement – Drama
Bryan Cranston (“Breaking Bad,” AMC)
X – Claire Danes (“Homeland,” Showtime)

Peter Dinklage (“Game of Thrones,” HBO)

Jon Hamm (“Mad Men,” AMC)

Jessica Lange (“American Horror Story,” FX)

Individual Achievement – Comedy
X – Louis C.K. (“Louie,” FX)

Lena Dunham (“Girls,” HBO)

Julia Louis-Dreyfus (“Veep,” HBO)

Jim Parsons (“The Big Bang Theory,” CBS)

Amy Poehler (“Parks and Recreation,” NBC)

Outstanding Achievement – News and Information
“Anderson Cooper 360” (CNN)

”The Daily Show” (Comedy Central)

”Frontline” (PBS)
X – 
”60 Minutes” (CBS)

“The Rachel Maddow Show” (MSNBC)

Outstanding Achievement – Reality Programming
“The Amazing Race” (CBS)

“Dancing with the Stars” (ABC)

”The Glee Project” (Oxygen)
X – 
”So You Think You Can Dance” (Fox)

“The Voice” (NBC)

Outstanding Achievement – Youth Programming
“iCarly” (Nickelodeon)

”Phineas and Ferb” (Disney)

“Sesame Street” (PBS)
X – 
”Switched at Birth” (ABC Family)

”Yo Gabba Gabba” (Nick Jr.)

Career Achievement Award
Dick Clark

Andy Griffith
X – 
David Letterman

Regis Philbin

William Shatner

Heritage Award
X – “Cheers” (NBC)

“Lost” (ABC)

”Saturday Night Live” (NBC)

”Star Trek” (NBC)

”Twin Peaks” (ABC)


‘Mad Men,’ ‘American Horror Story’ lead Emmy Award nominations

Emmy Awards: Complete list of nominations

See how you did predicting Emmy Awards nominations 

Surprise! Which Emmy nominees did you fail to predict?

Emmy snubs include ‘Parks and Recreation,’ ‘The Good Wife,’ Kelsey Grammer, Jeff Probst

More News from GoldDerby