After 13-year drought, will Golden Globes finally honor a woman with Cecil B. Demille Award?

It has been 13 years since a woman was honored with the Cecil B. DeMille Award from the Hollywood Foreign Press Assn. Barbra Streisand received that lifetime achievement honor at the 1999 ceremony (held in early 2000). This year’s honoree will be announced on November 1.

The past 11 consecutive winners of this award have all been men who are actors and/or directors: Morgan Freeman (2011), Robert De Niro (2010), Martin Scorsese (2009), Steven Spielberg (2008), Warren Beatty (2006), Anthony Hopkins (2005), Robin Williams (2004), Michael Douglas (2003), Gene Hackman (2002), Harrison Ford (2001), and Al Pacino (2000). No award was given for 2007 due to the actors’ strike.

The two women with the best chance are Julie Andrews and Angela Lansbury. Andrews has already won three Globes in a half-century career filled with 10 nominations. Lansbury has had great success in films, television, and theatre, but most of her best films are from the earliest part of her career. She has claimed six Globes from her 15 nominations.

Other women that might be selected are: Carol Burnett (five wins; 16 nods), Cher (three wins; six nods), Faye Dunaway (three wins; 11 nods), Jane Fonda (four wins; 11 nods), Whoopi Goldberg (two wins; 3 nods), Goldie Hawn (one win; nine nods), Diane Keaton (two wins; nine nods), Mary Tyler Moore (three wins; nine nods), and Shirley Temple (no nods).

The HFPA committee rarely chooses someone that has a good shot at a nomination the same year (the last time was Sophia Loren in 1994), so that probably rules out Glenn Close (two wins; 12 nods), Sally Field (two wins; 10 nods); Meryl Streep (eight wins; 26 nods), and Maggie Smith (two wins; nine nods). Streep, however, is well overdue for this honor and has a film in contention almost every year. Her selection this time would not be a surprise.

Living women who have already been DeMille recipients are Streisand (1999), Shirley MacLaine (1997), Loren (1994), Lauren Bacall (1992), and Doris Day (1988).

What will win Best Comedy/Musical Picture?
Log your predictions in all top Golden Globes races. Compete against experts!


If another man is chosen this year, the most logical person might be Michael Caine, who has won three of his dozen Globe races. Other men that might be honored include: Alan Alda (six wins, 16 nods), Jeff Bridges (two wins; four nods), Francis Ford Coppola (four wins; 15 nods), Bill Cosby (three wins; eight nods), Billy Crystal (no wins; 3 nods), Robert Duvall (four wins; six nods), James Garner (four wins; 12 nods), Ron Howard (two wins; eight nods), George Lucas (no wins; four nods), Steve Martin (no wins; five nods), Mike Nichols (one win; six nods), Peter O’Toole (four wins; 11 nods), and John Travolta (one win; six nods).

Tom Hanks (seven wins; 13 nods) and Denzel Washington (two wins; six nods) will certainly be honored at some point in their career but probably not this year since they have probable nominations for “Game Change” and “Flight,” respectively.

More News from GoldDerby