Does SAG owe ‘Homeland’ cast an apology for last year’s terror-ble snub?

If “Homeland” was the best new show to premiere in 2011, then no one looks more out of touch with their surroundings than those clueless voters over at the Screen Actors Guild.

The Showtime thriller swept through practically every single kudoscast over the past year, earning nominations and wins from the likes of the all-important Emmys, the Golden Globes, the Television Critics Association, and even the Writers and Directors Guilds of America.

Unfortunately for SAG, they were the only major awards show to completely snub “Homeland.” Ouch.

Since SAG lumps lead and supporting players together, there are by definition fewer nominations to be given to TV actors as a whole. But to completely snub Claire Danes in her breakthrough performance as CIA operative Carrie Mathison, SAG actually revealed themselves last year to be completely unaware of what was happening in the TV landscape.

An apology is definitely in order, and there’s no better way for SAG to make good with last year’s mistake than to recognize the cast of “Homeland” at this year’s ceremony. (SAG nominations will be announced December 12.)

The “Homeland” cast should be a shoo-in for a TV Drama Ensemble nomination, the category that “Boardwalk Empire” has won two years in a row. Danes is also expected to receive a nomination in the TV Drama Actress race, while male co-stars Damian Lewis and Mandy Patinkin could both hear their names called on the TV Drama Actor side.

To put into perspective SAG’s across-the-board snub, here’s a brief roll call of many of the accolades earned by “Homeland” for its first season:

Primetime Emmys
Best Drama Series — won
Best Drama Actress Claire Daneswon
Best Drama Actor Damian Lewiswon
Best Drama Writing — won
Best Drama Directing — lost to “Boardwalk Empire

Golden Globes
Best TV Drama Series — won
Best TV Drama Actress Claire Danes — won
Best TV Drama Actor Damian Lewis — lost to Kelsey Grammer (“Boss“)

Television Critics Association
Outstanding New Program of the Year — won
Individual Achievement in Drama Claire Danes — won
Outstanding Achievement in Drama — lost to “Breaking Bad
Program of the Year — lost to “Game of Thrones

Writers Guild of America
Best New Series — won
Best Episodic Drama — won
Best Drama Series — lost to “Breaking Bad

Directors Guild of America
Best Drama Directing — lost to “The Killing

More News from GoldDerby