LA critics embrace ‘Amour,’ ‘The Master’ over ‘Zero Dark Thirty’

On Sunday, the Los Angeles Film Critics Assn. went their own way, naming “Amour” as the Best Picture of the year. Earlier in the day, the New York Online Film Critics and Boston film critics had echoed the Gotham print critics and National Board of Review, both of whom went with “Zero Dark Thirty” last week. (See full list of LAFCA winners here.) 

The LA group picked “The Master” as their runner-up. They had already shown their love for this film, giving it four awards: Best Director (Paul Thomas Anderson), Best Actor (Joaquin Phoenix), Best Supporting Actress (Amy Adams) and Production Design. 

“ZD30” director Kathryn Bigelow had to be content with being named runner-up in her race while her cutters Dylan Tichenor and William Goldenberg claimed the group’s first-ever Editing award. Goldenberg was the runner-up for his solo work on “Argo.”  

In a surprise, “Amour” did not win Best Foreign Film; instead that prize went to “Holy Motors,” whose star, Denis Lavant, was the runner-up for Best Actor. However, “Amour” leading lady Emmanuelle Riva did share the Best Actress award with Jennifer Lawrence (“Silver Linings Playbook“). 

Beasts of the Southern Wild” had a good showing after being blanked by the NYFCC, winning Supporting Actor (Dwight Henry) and Score (writer/director Benh Zeitlin shared this with Dan Romer) . 

LAFCA’s love for “The Master” denied Daniel Day-Lewis his fourth Best Actor prize from this group for his performance as America’s 16th president in “Lincoln.” He previously prevailed for “My Left Foot” (1989); “Gangs of New York” (2002); and “There Will Be Blood” (2007) and went on to win the Oscar for the first and last of these. 

Roger Deakins won his third Best Cinematography award from LAFCA for “Skyfall.” The lenser is still without an Oscar despite nine nominations. 

Tim Burton picked up a bookend for his NYFCC prize with another win for his animated feature “Frankenweenie.” 

The Gatekeepers” edged out another of the Oscar semi-finalists, “Searching for Sugar Man,” for Best Documentary. “Searching” won the top prize from the International Documentary Assn. on Friday. 

More News from GoldDerby