You decide: Who will win New York Film Critics Circle Awards?

The winners of the 78th annual New York Film Critics Circle Awards will be announced on Dec. 3.

Among this year’s leading contenders, Daniel Day-Lewis (“Lincoln“) has been a particular favorite of the NYFCC with four wins for his 1985 supporting performances in “My Beautiful Launderette” and “Room with a View” and his leading roles in “My Left Foot” (1989), “Gangs of New York” (2002) and “There Will Be Blood” (2007). While he was not nominated by the academy in 1985, he claimed Oscars in 1989 and 2007.

Last year, the NYFCC was so determined to get ahead of the other film awards that it unveiled its winners on Nov. 28. “The Artist” won both Best Picture and Best Director (Michel Hazanavicius) at these kudos before taking both these prizes at the Oscars.

Other than “The Artist,” only three of the last 12 NYFCC champs repeated at the Oscars: “The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King” (2003), “No Country for Old Men” (2007) and “The Hurt Locker” (2009). Five NYFCC Best Picture honorees reaped nominations in this top race: “Traffic” (2000), “Sideways” (2004), “Brokeback Mountain” (2005), “Milk” (2008) and “The Social Network” (2010). And three NYFFC winners were snubbed by the academy: “Mulholland Drive” (2001), “Far From Heaven” (2002) and “United 93” (2006).

Among the most recent dozen NYFCC directing champs, Hazanavicius was the seventh to also win an Oscar, joining the likes of Steven Soderbergh (“Traffic,” 2000), Clint Eastwood (“Million Dollar Baby,” 2004), Ang Lee (“Brokeback Mountain,” 2005), Martin Scorsese (“The Departed,” 2006), Joel and Ethan Coen (“No Country for Old Men,” 2007) and Kathryn Bigelow (“The Hurt Locker,” 2009).

Three of the NYFCC Best Director honorees — Robert Altman (“Gosford Park,” 2001) Sofia Coppola (“Lost in Translation,” 2003) and David Fincher (“The Social Network,” 2010) —  were at least Oscar nominees while two — Todd Haynes (“Far From Heaven,” 2002) and Mike Leigh (“Happy-Go-Lucky,” 2008) — were snubbed entirely.

Last year, Meryl Streep won her fourth Best Actress prize from the Gotham critics for her portayal of British PM Margaret Thatcher in “The Iron Lady.” She went on to claim her third Oscar for the role.

Besides Streep, only two of the last 12 NYFCC winners repeated at the Oscars: Reese Witherspoon (“Walk the Line,” 2005) and Helen Mirren (“The Queen,” 2006). Seven of the NYFCC Best Actress honorees — Laura Linney (“You Can Count on Me,” 2000), Sissy Spacek (“In the Bedroom,” 2001), Diane Lane (“Unfaithful,” 2002), Imelda Staunton (“Vera Drake,” 2004), Julie Christie (“Away from Her,” 2007), Streep (“Julie and Julia,” 2009) and Annette Bening (“The Kids Are All Right,” 2010) — were at least Oscar nominees while two — Hope Davis (“American Splendor” and “The Secret Lives of Dentists,” 2003) and Sally Hawkins (“Happy-Go-Lucky,” 2008) — were snubbed entirely.

Brad Pitt was cited as Best Actor by the NYFCC for his work in both “Moneyball” and “The Tree of Life.” He reaped an Oscar bid for “Moneyball” but lost as did six of the other 12 most recent NYFCC winners: Tom Hanks (“Cast Away,” 2000), Tom Wilkinson (“In the Bedroom,” 2001), Day-Lewis (“Gangs of New York,” 2002), Bill Murray (“Lost in Translation,” 2003), Heath Ledger (“Brokeback Mountain,” 2005) and George Clooney (“Up in the Air,” 2009).

Besides Day-Lewis for “There Will Be Blood,” three of the last 12 NYFCC winners went on to take home Oscars: Forest Whitaker (“The Last King of Scotland,” 2006), Sean Penn (“Milk,” 2008) and Colin Firth (“The King’s Speech,” 2010). Only one NYFCC champ — Paul Giamatti (“Sideways,” 2004) — was snubbed entirely by the academy.

What will win Best Picture?
Log your predictions in all top Oscar races. Compete against experts!


More News from GoldDerby