After jumpstart last year, New York film critics move back to Dec. 3

After jumping to the front of the pack last year and announcing winners on Nov. 28, the New York Film Critics Circle has shifted its annual kudos to Dec. 3.

That preemptive move last year put the NYFCC out front of their LA counterparts as well as the National Board of Review which has traditionally been the first group to weigh in with winners. However, it meant that they did not see “Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close.” The Gotham crix named eventual Oscar champ “The Artist” as Best Picture. 

Two years ago, the Circle unveiled its winners on Dec. 13 when “The Social Network” won Best Picture as it had with the NBR and the LA film critics (which preempted the Gotham group by one day). This film would go on to win over almost all of the critics associations before falling short at the Oscars. 

As Tuesday’s announcement notes, “the Circle’s awards are often viewed as harbingers of the Oscar nominations. The Circle’s awards are also viewed — perhaps more accurately — as a principled alternative to the Oscars, honoring aesthetic merit in a forum that is immune to commercial 
and political pressures.” Winners will be feted five weeks after being announced with a ceremony on Jan. 7.

Time Out New York senior writer Joshua Rothkopf is the new chair. The Circle, which does not include any New York Times scribes, now numbers 45 members with the addition of Bilge Ebiri (New York Magazine), Nick Pinkerton (Village Voice) and Keith Uhlich (Time Out New York).

More News from GoldDerby