You decide: What will win Best Original Screenplay at this year’s Oscars?

Last year, this award went to “Midnight in Paris,” written by Woody Allen. It was the fourth Oscar in Allen’s storied career. He is back in the mix this year with “To Rome with Love.”


Only two of the last 10 Best Original Screenplay winners were left out of the Best Picture race (“Talk to Her” in 2002, “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind” in 2004). Of the other eight, three also won Best Picture (“Crash,” 2005; “The Hurt Locker,” 2009; “The King’s Speech,” 2010).

Top contenders in this category include “Django Unchained” (Quentin Tarantino, who won this category in 1994 “Pulp Fiction”), “The Master” (five-time Oscar-nominee Paul Thomas Anderson), “Zero Dark Thirty” (“Hurt Locker” Oscar-winner Mark Boal), “Moonrise Kingdom” (Roman Coppola and two-time Oscar-nominee Wes Anderson), and the French-language “Amour” (Michael Haneke).

Among the other original scripters in the running are “Promised Land” (Dave Eggers, John Krasinski, and Oscar-winner Matt Damon), “The Impossible” (Sergio G. Sanchez), and “Flight” (John Gatins).

What film will win Best Original Screenplay?
Log your predictions in all top Oscar races. Compete against experts!

Pixar has had multiple films in this race (“Finding Nemo,” “Up,” “WALL-E,” etc.). This year it could return with “Brave” (Steve Purcell, Brenda Chapman, Irene Mecchi, and Oscar-nominee Mark Andrews). Also with the potential to return is Terrence Malick, a three-time Oscar-nominee who could score his second writing nod for “To the Wonder.”

More News from GoldDerby